We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Welcoming hosts, close to beach and town. 2nd floor views of the beach and ocean. Close to ferries as well. Apt. was modern with bed arrangement we had requested. Large balcony for viewing and sipping wine.

Room Tip: Get 2nd floor with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lonewolf228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Lonewolf228 - Thank you for taking the time to let others know about Russ & Gill, two very dedicated managers who work 24/7 to make all guests feel welcome and help them enjoy their stay at Beachside Resort. For the better views of Buffalo beach, remember to book an Oceans View unit. Regards Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    178
    33
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
271
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed two nights in the Beachside Resort. First thing we noticed: it is not on the beach and has no sea view. The room is spacious with a seperate bedroom and kitchenette. But the quality of the bed and other furniture was poor and unfortunenately not comfortable.

Generally, it is not value for money - the hotel is expensive (as most hotels in Whitianga) and you don't get the same quality (by far) compared to other hotels in NZ for the money you pay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear EBinNZ - Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were under the impression that Beachside Resort was on the beach, we are on the beachside of Oceans Resort. Our upstairs units have a fabulous view of Buffalo beach, I am guessing you booked a downstairs unit – these do not offer a view. While 99.9% of our customers enjoy their stay with us, the bed, the arm chair and the sofa are all comfortable to them, its only very small minority that do not and I am sorry for this. As you state, our unit price is similar to others in Whitianga and yes, may be, a little more expensive than Palmerston North! but you are paying to stay on the Coromandel and not the Manawatu ... Thank you for letting everyone know. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed mid December and all the reviews we'd relied on were accurate! We stayed in the apartment which with our daughter staying with us and needing quiet space to study was perfect. We were so handy to the shops and restaurants we didn't waste precious time as we only had 3 days in beautiful Whitianga! Our hosts were excellent making sure that our daughter had a private, quiet space to do an interview via internet to overseas - this really added to our stay. The pool is very nice too! Would definitely return as the units alongside the reception area looked lovely too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Kimlorained - Thank you for your review. This helps others when making a decision where to stay when coming to the Coromandel. I am pleased that you found everything to your liking and that Russ and Gill were great hosts. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Beachside Resort is in a very central location just a minutes drive to the centre of town (where all the restaurants are), a 10 second walk to the beach and a 30 second walk to the charming and romantic spa - The Lost Spring. The room itself was very modern and spacious and we were able to check in early. This trip was a part of our honeymoon and we were spoilt with a bottle of bubby on arrival as well. Not even the hairy sofa and duvet, or the little grumble from Russ after we asked for some more coffee after 7pm (apparently motels don't provide any service after 7pm or allow more than 2 sachets of coffee per day according to Russ) put us off.

A must visit during your stay is to the Lost Spring. This sits right next to the hotel and is definitely worth a visit. These are hot pools with a difference! Sip a wine, beer or cocktail IN the pools. There aren't any kids around to splash or annoy you, and there is plenty of space to find some privacy. I would also definitely recommend the $165 package that includes all day pool access, a massage, a antipasto platter, a cocktail, towel and robe.

Gill was very helpful in providing directions the next day and Gill and Russ together were very helpful in letting us check in early.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Makkernz - Thank you for writing us a review. I am glad you liked our location and the large units. The Lost spring is an amazing place and you are correct - no children, the day pass is the best option when visiting as you can walk to and from the Last Spring via the Resorts access gate. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great location, modern and clean room.
Stayed with 2 friends in a 2 bedroom studio. bathroom was in the main bedroom, that was a bit anoying if everybody needs to walk through the bedroom.
We would go back and we enjoyed the stay in Whitianga.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Monika G - We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will be coming back. Please note that you booked a one bedroom with ensuite (the lounge has beds for extra guests) so the bathroom is off the bedroom. Next time book our two bedroom apartment there are two bathrooms with free access. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Beachside Resort offers very modern, well equiped and extremely clean premises well located by Whitianga beach, and a five minute (or less) walk to the city centre and pier areas. Whitianga is a wonderful family getaway location, with plenty to see and do in town, very good amenities and increasing variety of shops, and close driving distance to Hahei and Hot Water Beach. In all it offers a less 'suburban' and more beachside feel that its neighbouring Coromandel towns of Pauanui and Whangamata. I will be staying here again (regularly)!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MikeL30A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear MikeL30A - Thank you for a great review. So pleased you enjoyed you stay and will be coming back to stay with us. Call Russ or Gill for a return discount or go online and enter the code SUMMER when booking for a 10% online discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Couldn't fault this accommodation - very suitable for a small family or group. Small studio apartments with a separate main bedroom and one bathroom and small kitchenette. The owners were very helpful and friendly which is really important when you arrive somewhere after a long drive. It is a long windy drive up the Coromandel Peninsula - so the reception you get when you arrive is important.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingMumCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear WorkingMumCanberra - Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us - please do visit us again next time in NZ. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Whitianga

Property: Beachside Resort Whitianga
Address: 20 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Whitianga offers lovely one & two bedroom self-contained motel apartments at competitive rates. Just a three minute stroll to Whitianga's main street and only a minute to the beautiful Buffalo Beach. Beachside Resort Motel is located on the Beachside of the Oceans Resort complex in the heart of Whitianga, New Zealand (NZ). Perfect to explore the sights and attractions of Mercury Bay and the Coromandel Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachside Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing