We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good motel 50m from main beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good motel 50m from main beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel is in a good location about 50m from the main beach. The room was clean and well equipped consisting of a double and single bed. There was a kitchen consisting of fridge, microwave and 2 hobs, sufficient to cook a basic meal. There was a friendly greeting from the receptionist and a small bottle of milk provided for that first drink. It was a short walk to the main town centre and a further 5 mins to the marina area with a couple of restaurants. 5min drive to the Countdown supermarket

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 320KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear 320Kevin - Thank you for your review. We love reviews that tell others about the property. All the best on the rest of your travels in New Zealand. Regards Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    177
    33
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
271
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

everythings good! we stayed at beachside resort motel for two nights. This motel is a quite high standard. It's very quiet in the bedroom but when you stay living room you can heard and saw the sound of sea.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Jiru S - Thank you for writing us a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamahere, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay here. We got a complimentary upgrade to an upstairs room (same layout I believe but with a view). The upstairs room was nice and comfortable even in the middle of summer.

And the pool was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GarethG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear GarethG29 - Thank you for your review. I am glad you were able to get an upgrade and enjoyed your three days with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at Beachside Resort for two nights and we found it to be of a very high standard. Loved the fact that they supplied New Zealand bathroom products. Thanks, as I don't use the them if they are cheap, inferior imported products. The hosts were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area. Great to be offered beach towels, buckets and spades to experience the hot beach pools. Also loved the pool - so clean and well maintained. Someone suggested there are no beach views. We certainly had one from our balcony and enjoyed our drinks on it. It's proximity to restaurants was appreciated and our meal at Salt was first class. Being part of the Host group was very handy with their good offers and we'll maintained and clean places of accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oz2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Oz2Australia - What a lovely review - thank you. We appreciate reviews that do inform others about what Beachside Resort is really like and thank you for correcting EBinNZ's review (in which they stating that we had no beach views). I am so glad the Managers were helpful and we would love to have you back sometime if you are in Whitianga. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Welcoming hosts, close to beach and town. 2nd floor views of the beach and ocean. Close to ferries as well. Apt. was modern with bed arrangement we had requested. Large balcony for viewing and sipping wine.

Room Tip: Get 2nd floor with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lonewolf228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Lonewolf228 - Thank you for taking the time to let others know about Russ & Gill, two very dedicated managers who work 24/7 to make all guests feel welcome and help them enjoy their stay at Beachside Resort. For the better views of Buffalo beach, remember to book an Oceans View unit. Regards Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed two nights in the Beachside Resort. First thing we noticed: it is not on the beach and has no sea view. The room is spacious with a seperate bedroom and kitchenette. But the quality of the bed and other furniture was poor and unfortunenately not comfortable.

Generally, it is not value for money - the hotel is expensive (as most hotels in Whitianga) and you don't get the same quality (by far) compared to other hotels in NZ for the money you pay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear EBinNZ - Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were under the impression that Beachside Resort was on the beach, we are on the beachside of Oceans Resort. Our upstairs units have a fabulous view of Buffalo beach, I am guessing you booked a downstairs unit – these do not offer a view. While 99.9% of our customers enjoy their stay with us, the bed, the arm chair and the sofa are all comfortable to them, its only very small minority that do not and I am sorry for this. As you state, our unit price is similar to others in Whitianga and yes, may be, a little more expensive than Palmerston North! but you are paying to stay on the Coromandel and not the Manawatu ... Thank you for letting everyone know. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed mid December and all the reviews we'd relied on were accurate! We stayed in the apartment which with our daughter staying with us and needing quiet space to study was perfect. We were so handy to the shops and restaurants we didn't waste precious time as we only had 3 days in beautiful Whitianga! Our hosts were excellent making sure that our daughter had a private, quiet space to do an interview via internet to overseas - this really added to our stay. The pool is very nice too! Would definitely return as the units alongside the reception area looked lovely too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Beachside Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Kimlorained - Thank you for your review. This helps others when making a decision where to stay when coming to the Coromandel. I am pleased that you found everything to your liking and that Russ and Gill were great hosts. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Whitianga

Property: Beachside Resort Whitianga
Address: 20 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Whitianga offers lovely one & two bedroom self-contained motel apartments at competitive rates. Just a three minute stroll to Whitianga's main street and only a minute to the beautiful Buffalo Beach. Beachside Resort Motel is located on the Beachside of the Oceans Resort complex in the heart of Whitianga, New Zealand (NZ). Perfect to explore the sights and attractions of Mercury Bay and the Coromandel Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachside Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing