We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!”
Review of Auntie Dawns Place

Auntie Dawns Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auntie Dawns Place
Ranked #23 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Loved everything they offered from the showers to fresh grapefruit to the shovels for the hot pools. Highly recommend staying here for your visit. The staff was incredibly nice. Only one minute from the beach and all the local cafes. Such a beautiful gem of hot water beach.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Auntie Dawns Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

We spent two nights at Auntie Dawn's place during our New Zealand honeymoon. Sadly, Auntie Dawn was in the hospital during our stay. (I'm glad to see from the other more recent stays that she is all well and good) Still, Joe made us feel comfortable and at home. We loved spending time with Jock, their dog and meeting some of his family that were also visiting from the states. On our first day arriving, over Joe's home brewed beer, Joe planned our next whole days itinerary (we didn't really have anything planned but Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove). He gave us maps and told us where to stop for the best fish and ice cream along the drive. He even let us borrow a cooler so we could bring some fish back if we wanted. This was almost the end of our trip and having people invite us up into their home to talk about our trip and our lives was really nice. It felt like family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannine-and-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed here for two weeks. Dawn and Joe are both amazing people and their stories and conversations are worth the price alone. Couldn't ask for a better location too, < 1 minutes walk to the beach. The garden and surrounds are wonderful too. Highly recommended, thanks a million guys!

Room Tip: Have breakfast outside in the mornings and take in the beautiful surrounds!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here with my elderly father-in-law as well as our two young children for four nights. This apartment was suitable for the kids and was also senior friendly with it being all on one level and having handrails in the bathroom. The kids loved exploring the property and helping feed the chooks. The location was perfect and we loved walking to Hot Water Beach. The kitchen was fully equipped and the breakfast supplies were great.
Dawn and Joe are great hosts. They invited us up the Joe's beer garden, brought some kids toys down for my boys to play with and they even entertained my father-in-law one afternoon!
The apartment is dated and does have a musty smell, but we were not expecting anything too flash.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowderPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here particularly the kids, they had a ball chasing the chickens and looking at the eels. Auntie dawn and Joe really go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We enjoyed staying there in November 2010. There were 3 of us ,and the room little apartment was the perfect size. The kitchen was equiped with all we needed.
It is a 5 minute walk to Hot Water beach and you can borrow a bucket & spade from Joe & Dawn. We had Joe's brew on our last day and it was very tasty!
Make sure you ask Dawn about places to eat around there, especially if the fish & Chips place is still around in the camping area. Close to Cathedral Cove and easy to find from the main road.
We will definately be staying there again, hopefully more than 2 days next time!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We enjoyed a lovely trip to both islands of New Zealand, and of all the beautiful places we stayed, our most cherished memories will be of our time with Dawn and Joe at Hot Water Beach. This lovely, genial couple welcomed us to their charming place and gave us all sorts of good travel tips. Best of all, they invited us to join them for happy hour in Joe's beer garden out back, which features verdant grapevines, enormous colorful begonias and a really tasty homebrew. We laughed and shared stories about everything from politics and religion to humorous Kiwi sayings such as "Rattle your dags," "She’ll be all right mate" and" sweet as."
Also, unlike the stuffy guest from London, we loved meeting the free range chickens who provided the farm fresh eggs for our breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RilesWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
10.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
3.7 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.0 mi away
Seabreeze Holiday Park
Seabreeze Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Whenuakite
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auntie Dawns Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auntie Dawns Place

Address: 15 Radar Road | Hot Water Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Auntie Dawns Place Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing