We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nightmare I never want to repeat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whitianga Campground
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We arrived to find a queue of people waiting. They told us that the owner had 'lost their booking' and they had been waiting for an hour. He'd wandered off to check his computer 30 minutes ago and eventually reappeared eating the last of his sandwich! We couldn't believe he had left us standing there while he had his lunch! And it was all downhill from there. I'd had a conversation with him and he agreed to book 2 cabins for us on receipt of my email, and he responded telling us to bring sheets and pillows. So there we were 8 people in peak holiday season with him telling us that we didn't have a booking. He kept referring us to other places with vacancies that had nothing when we called them. It was like a scene with Basil Fawlty. My advice is to avoid this campground, there are much better ones in Whitianga anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Owner at Whitianga Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

As I recall this guest arrived from Australia, there had been email correspondence, but she hadn't paid the deposit, and unfortunately we were unable to accommodate her.
I did my best to find alternative accommodation
Our hours at out by 10am and in after 2pm and if you arrive in between those hours it is quite likley you may find me having my lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Not worth the money useless you manage to get a VERY special price on an accommodation website which might make it worthwhile for 1 night.

Toilets smell and are chronically wet
Spiders in rooms
Old, dirty facilities and tv's barely work.

Also wifi is archaic and useless

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cramcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Nice friendly staff, organised an excellent spot for my tent. Good basic kitchen and lounge. NO hot water shower! Uses a token system, when I went back to complain about no hot water, no offer was made to correct the issue! :-( Toilets were also grubby which with both issues let them down!

Cost $15 per tent site (Included 5 min hot shower token, don't count on the hot bit!)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank The_Flying_Brick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

If you are looking to bring back happy memories of fun family holidays, look no further than this tradditional kiwi campground. The facilities provide all the essentials at a reasonable price and the friendly campground people add to the fun atmosphere.

The owner was always flexible and willing to go the extra mile to meet our needs (unusual in this day and age).

I look forward to smelling the aroma of freshly caught fish and sizzling sausages when I next holiday at this little piece of paradise ways from the city hussle.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment. The cottage is my pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamn_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

If you want to see Basil Faulty or visit Arkwright's Store this is the place.
The fact that the owner shows no star rating is for a good reason; professional curtesy.
If you find another business offering accommodation and advertising:

Cancellations or changes to bookings for this room will not be permitted for any reason. Once confirmed a booking cannot be refunded or altered in any way.

I would doubt that anyone would book there.
This man will take from you any payment he thinks he can get away with.
If this is the only accommodation you can find in Whitianga sleep on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were expecting a really nice family holiday. Admittedly I messed up our booking and had paid online through Wotif for a cabin for three nights instead of a unit with ensuite and kitchen. The owner said we would be fine to upgrade to a unit for two nights instead of the three because of the third being booked out, and we would be refunded for the difference. My father went to get our refund just before leaving and the Owner said we owed him for the cabin for the third night and threatened to lock the gate if we didn’t pay! We ended up paying $130 extra for a cabin we did not use. On top of this there was a total lack of service and hospitality, and no kiwi spirit. Be warned, this guy is a cowboy operator.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

A camp ground i feel should be clean and operational i felt many things have been neglected and not tidied or cleaned for a while. 2 bbq's 1 didnt work at all the second very dirty took 30 minutes to warm so you could still put your hand on the plate....no toaster, this would be a good business to buy as it would be very easy to improve.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tubbatubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
11.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.1 mi away
Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 25 in Whitianga
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge
6.3 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
13.0 mi away
Long Bay Motor Camp
Long Bay Motor Camp
#30 of 97 in Coromandel Peninsula
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitianga Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitianga Campground

Address: 6 Bongard Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: £38 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitianga Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Whitianga Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing