We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whitianga Campground
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This camping ground would have to be one of the worst camping grounds in New Zealand. In the company of friends we traveled to Whitianga for a long weekend, both families staying in the cabins. Being a bit early we had the pleasure of listening to the cleaners complain about the dirt brought in by the previous occupants. A bit hard to do with little children running in and out. The rooms where adequate, however the cleaners must have been height challenged with dubious stains in the strangest places, including the curtains. The double bed in one room was an old wire base with a creaky mattress that made loud noises when the occupants shifted.

The kitchen area was true of a vintage that has seen better days, nothing was clean. While you expect the camping ground users to clean their own plates and cutlery, however an inspection by the camp managers would have found the standard of cleanness severely wanting.

The shower and toilet block should be condemn, the whole facility smelt of urine, both the men's and women's. The hot water in the showers was delivered by a token in a meter. If you were lucky and the hot water came on, you had 3 minutes. The showers had a thin layer of grime covering the floor.

The toilets were not cleaned in the three days we where there, actually the shower and toilet block was not cleaned at all. Most camping grounds I have been to, sluice the block out at least once a day. On the last day I noticed the water backing up into the shower, later when returning to the toilet block I noticed a strong smell of sewerage. Water was starting to go across the floor as the result of the drain being block by raw sewage from the toilets. While I went to find somebody in charge, one of the permanent campers plunge the offending pipe with a steel rod and dislodged the blockage.

I heard the camper talking to one of the staff who thanked him for unblocking the drain. What amazed me that this was the same person who had been in the toilet area some time before and had not acted on the blockage.

It was very disheartening to see the rod that had used to unblock the drain still sitting beside the toilet block, covered in excrement and tissue some time later.

Upon returning home the first thing we did was have shower.

The camping grounds have a for sale sign at the entrance, While the location is fantastic, I suggest it is time the current owners move on or bulldoze the site.

Room Tip: The best rooms would be found at another camping ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Number8wire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Manager at Whitianga Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Its dissappointing to hear your negative comments about our campground
Its true that we have an old fashion campground, we have always been upfront with that in our marketing, as some guests enjoy that experience and others, which probably would include the ANONYMOUS reviewer, would obviously prefer a more modern camping experience.
We like to think that our pricing is competitive to reflect this.
Specifically I can tell you that when we have guests using our facilities they are cleaned daily by our cleaners, who live on site
The issue with the ablutions on this occasion and not for the first time, results from children playing with toilet rolls which end up blocking the drain, requiring a plumber to flush out.
Not only is this expensive for us but inconvenient for guests, similarly when some inconsiderate guests dine in our kitchen/loungs area without consideration for others
Its a pity we dont have the same opportunity to review some of the guests we have accommodated
Now that would make good reading
As the manager I will be discussing the comments with our staff to see how and what improvements should be made,.
Thankyou for your comments, but dont be shy about signing your name on the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

This place is simple but confortable! I stayed in a tend! if you want to stay in tend, dont forget that you can not charge anything! The bathroom works with coins, each coin you can take a shower for 5 minutes!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camilago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very disappointed in the facilities available for the price paid. Appreciate weather cant be helped but owner attitude and blatant lying be turned a bad situation worse. Other campers shocked at owners lack of providing a safe area to camp in the hopes of making money on sites that remained empty during our entire stay. When moved we had to share a site with another tent which those people had rightfully paid for. Grant nay have been running this camp ground for 6 years but I believe he has a lot yo learn.
it was disappointing to have to get the kitchen facilities opened after waiting from 7-9am when someone came near the office.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank nenemenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Manager at Whitianga Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Jane Algie and friend booked a half site, arriving the 28th December for 5 nights, unfortunately the following day we had one of the worst days of rainfall I can remember here, 117mm in the town, the girls had been overnighting in nearby Coromandel, when they returned as the sites were very wet, Jane asked if they could move. I offered them a similar sized site, she demanded a full site as there were full sites available, i said the full sites were booked for New Year, she didn't believe me and demanded to see our booking records, she got very emotional , threatened us with a bad review on Trip Advisor.
At that stage why would you want to help when you know that the bad review is coming anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Yes, it's a basic family camp ground, but is certainly good value. We are a family with limited budget and more than happy to enjoy the fun family times! Xmas and New Year is about relaxing by the seaside and what could be better than camping in this beautiful bush setting.
An added bonus was the fantastic singer hired by the campground for New Year's Eve. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back for the next long weekend.

Room Tip: A tent site is a great option at this time of year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy9981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

After travelling from auckland, the lady upon arrival informed me our cabin (was booked over two months in advance) was double booked but not her problem as the boss took the booking. Ended up in another horribly tiny room they call a cabin, which grant the boss offered to us after admitting he wasnt even sure if it was clean! Just saw a huge cockroach, everything is nasty here. No info on the non existent facilities, were made to park on road after gates were locked un known to us that this would happen. I hate that I bought my friends here. Learn how to treat your paying customers. This is not the last review of this maggot hole you will see

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdalliessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Manager at Whitianga Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

5 westie chicks arrive, wrong room number allocated to their booking which is just as well as they had only booked for 4 guests., so girls sit down on the floor in their cabin and proceed to play drinking games, obviously too drunk to see the instructions at our office, regarding closing and opening of front gate, next morning we finally manage to move them out, the cabin is a hell of a mess for one nights stay
Laura Ramsey then posts a negative comment on our website encouraging others to do the same, enciting their lunatic friends to burn the place down
Following that experience we will be reviewing our policy on having groups in our accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a small campsite just off the main road at the north end of Whitianga. I got fed up with driving around in the rain and just stopped here without checking the facilities, paying for three nights.
The toilet block is hideous. Dimly lit, bare concrete, the showers need a token for five minutes and the token machine is not located in the shower. It made me think of a Russian Gulag. The floor is always wet and there is a big hose at the far end which is how they clean it - toilets and all.
The roadway in the camp is actually access to a property and may have vehicles on it at any time.
Don't use this place, there is a much better site just down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Manager at Whitianga Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

There are 3 campgrounds in Whitianga, we are the only campground that will take groups, which gives us a point of difference, but creates challenges for us as well, bad reviews being one downside
Over the Xmas period with the Coro Gold Festival we can have up to up to 300 guests staying here a night, between Xmas and New Year, using our shower/toilet blocks, which need to be cleaned at least twice a day as a result of careless. drunken and vomiting guests.
Our floors are concrete with a sealer finish which can be hosed down, they dry very quickly
This year there was no concert, in fact we organised our own. we had a better mix of families, couples and groups, and have had mostly positive verbal feedback
Our website describes our campground as a character traditional Kiwi campground,
It doesn't resignate with everyone,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The cabin we stayed in was grotty, and uncomfortable. There was no toilet roll holder or soap in the bathroom. The shower was has a 5 minute limit which is hard for those with long hair.

But for what we paid I guess you can't ask for much. In hindsight I would definitely pay more to stay at a more decent place.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kiwi_Emz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Manager at Whitianga Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We accept that the cabin may not be as clean as it should have been in November, as we hadn't finished our spring cleaning through all our cabins, in readiness for Xmas holidays
Most guests seem to be happy with a 5 minute shower, I recall when 3 minutes was the norm
Our toilet blocks now have soap or liquid soap
Regards

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
11.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 25 in Whitianga
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
13.0 mi away
Long Bay Motor Camp
Long Bay Motor Camp
#30 of 97 in Coromandel Peninsula
38 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitianga Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitianga Campground

Address: 6 Bongard Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: £37 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitianga Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Whitianga Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing