We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sovereign Pier on the waterways
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Awesome place, loved it will definitely be back, friendly, helpful management, great apartment. The place to stay if going to Whitianga

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
89
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed three nights in a beautiful 2 bedroom with en-suite overlooking the pool. The decor and facilities were excellent and the staff were very helpful, staying late for us to check in after we were delayed. The pool and spa pool are lovely with nice views.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The apartments are just excellent. Ours overlooked the swimming pool and the biggest jacuzzi I have ever seen.
Spotlessly clean and a huge space to enjoy. Full kitchen including a dishwasher and every bit of crockery, utensil you would need. Michelle looked after us, explaining all the options for eating out and how to use the laundry facilities - brand new and in your apartment.
Its 25 minute walk into the town, but nice to be away from the noise and the complex is in a quiet residential area.
Definitely worth a few days chilling out and definitely 5 star!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NetsandJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is the only place you would want to stay when in Whitianga. Fantastic value for money! The 2 Bedroom apartment had everything you could want and a touch of luxury to spoil you! Michelle was a fantastic host. We are looking forward to telling our friends and hopefully returning one day soon!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMAO1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

After a very long trip around the Coromandel peninsula, we finally found our beautiful apartment, waiting for us. After a friendly greeting and being shown the necessary facilities, we were left to relax and unwind.

Our two bedroom apartment had all the necessary things, 2 big bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a laundry for that pile of holiday washing that accumulates with a family of four and a big kitchen with everything you could think of. We went to the Coles New World just up the road and stocked up...cooked a great meal which we ate at the big six seater dining room table and then loaded up the dishwasher...such necessities for a great holiday with the family!

We woke to rain...all day...after a trip to town for a dreary bit of lunch, we headed to reception for the loan of the free DVDs and had an afternoon of more relaxing. The boys then went to the gym and enjoyed all the things to do there.

That night we left the teenagers and went out for a romantic dinner for parents only at Salt restaurant. What great food, wine and atmosphere we enjoyed! Do yourself a favor and spoil yourself at this fine dining restaurant. The safe, gated community is a big plus at this accommodation as the kids were happy to stay behind with another DVD and we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves.

The next morning we awoke to glorious sunshine and couldn't believe our luck! Today we are off to see some of the sights while the weather is good. Hubby and the kids are off for a swim in the pool and jacuzzi now that it's stopped raining.

The great thing about this apartment is that it has everything you need and it's big. If the weather sets in you're not going to get cabin fever and if you are out all day sightseeing, it's easy to make a meal for everyone in a jiffy!

Can't fault this place and we were glad we booked here for three glorious nights. What a beautiful location. We intend coming back one day when it stops raining and see some more of this gorgeous part of New Zealand. We are off to Auckland tomorrow...what a beautiful country this is!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AventurousFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

If visiting Coromandel in New Zealand, please do yourself a favour and stay at this beautiful apartments in Whitianga. There were 4 of us and we booked a 2 bedroom apartment. Our Apartment overlooked the waterfront and lap-pool. It was simply enormous with 2 bathrooms, a garden with BBQ facilities, lockup garage.....a truly cosy and clean place to stay. We all had a vote after our 2 week trip in North Island that this was the best accommdation we stayed in. Thanks to Manager, Michelle who helped us with all our queries and guidance. Don't forget to make a visit to Hot Water Beach (spade available from Michelle :-)) It really is an experience. Thank you again for this most memorable stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sovereign Pier on the waterways. We had a beautiful 1 bed apartment. These apartments are decorated and fitted out to such a high standard. They have tennis courts, a gym, swimming pool and spa pool. We spent more time relaxing and enjoying the accommodation than we did exploring Whitianga. It is such a fantastic spot for a really relaxing getaway and you want for nothing with their facilities. The only disappointing thing was that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
1.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 23 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Park Apartments
Marina Park Apartments
#6 of 23 in Whitianga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Pier on the waterways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Pier on the waterways

Property: Sovereign Pier on the waterways
Address: 73 South Highway | Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sovereign Pier on the waterways 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star resort delivering great holiday experiences 2nd to none with guaranteed water views, spacious modern suites,(1,2 or 3 bedrooms). Your ideal honeymoon or holiday location. Facilities include FREE in room Wi-Fi, super-sized spa pool, lap pool and tennis court, gym and kayak hire. Suites all have designer kitchens, spacious dining, lounge and bedrooms with walk-in wardrobes in master bedroom, providing all the comforts of home and more. Water views guaranteed with all Suites located on the waterfront with peaceful relaxing views of the Waterways & mountain range beyond; set amongst landscaped grounds, just minutes from the beach, Whitianga is spoilt for choice with many cafes, bars & restaurants, ensuring all tastes are catered for, only a 1.5Km walk to the centre of the township. Cosy gas fires/or heat pumps complete the picture for the colder months. A full laundry is provided within each Suite.Unique to Sovereign Pier is their own private boat ramp; and ample FREE parking for cars & boat trailers. Guests with large power boats and yachts can also rent a marina berth, subject to availability. They have 24hr security in their gated complex for your peace of mind and a private lockable garage is provided with each Suite. Kayaks & quadricycle are available for hire. Whitianga is a New Zealand coastal town on the move. Often considered the Coromandel's jewel in the crown - It marks the gateway to spectacular deep sea fishing and diving as well as swimming, bush walking, scenic cruises, soaking in a hot pool at Hot Water Beach at low tide, or indulging yourself for a massage at the famous Whitianga Lost Spring Hot Mineral pools & Spa, horse riding, surf and line fishing, kayaking, relaxed shopping, dining on local cuisine, golfing, bone carving - Sovereign Pier sits in the center of all of this,in the peaceful location of the Whitianga waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sovereign Pier on the waterways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Pier On The Waterways Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing