We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Bedroom Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sovereign Pier on the waterways
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“1 Bedroom Villa”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Great service, great villas, modern and look exactly like the pictures on the internet which is not usually the case. Thanks Michelle and Andy :)))) Will definately be going back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
89
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights in May2012 and had a sensational time. Sovereign Pier on the waterways, is the place to stay, the 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious fully equipment with everthing you need, rooms very spacious and very clean.Our apartment faced the waterways with views over the water and boats in the canal which was lovely. Michelle went out of her way to accommodate our needs in everyway. On the premises they had a four seated quad bike to hire, that is a must to do. Shops close by from Supermarkets, Restaurants etc.
All in all a great place to stay.
Helen

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked family and friends into Sovereign Pier for a wedding and all our guests were extremely happy with their accommodation. The apartments are very spacious and the two bedroom, two bathroom apartment suitable for two couples. The kitchens were well equiped and barbeques available.
The apartments faced the waterways with views over the water and boats in the canal. The children enjoyed the spa.
We enjoyed being able to spend time together around wedding activites and Michelle went out of her way to accommodate our needs. Kay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We went to Whitianga for the long weekend for Doobie Bros/LRB concert and had an awesome time. This was much thanks to Sovereign Pier on the Waterways, their service was awesome and the rooms were amazing! On arrival they had all the information we needed to know about the concert (transport, food, drinks what to and not to take etc) in our room which made everything easy!
The contact via email prior to the weekend was also quick and easy.
Would highly recommend this place!!
Theresa

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed for four nights mid Feb and I would recommend hese apartments If you want something a bit special.
The Apartment no. 34 is oversized with fully equipped kitchen inc dishwasher full oven and electric hob.
There is enough crockery and seating for six people, two comfy sofas in h large lounge.
We enjoyed a lot of meals on the terrace, buying stuff from th nearby New World supermarket.

. There is a laundry in the apartment which was great as we are travelling for a few weeks.
There is a large terrace/balcony overlooking the marina and the moored boats. The complex was very quiet during our stay but got busier on the Saturday but no excessive noise. There is a swimming pool though we didn't use it and again it was barely used by others. I would imagine though that if you had a balcony overlooking the pool it could get noisy in busy times. To be fair when Michelle greeted us, warmly and professionally,she made it clear that after a certain time the pool was strictly out of bounds.
We have been very comfortable here at Sovereign on the Pier and after spending four days in Whitianga I would still say that it is one of the best places in town albeit a few minutes drive from the Town Centre.Whitianga is a great place from which to explore the Coromandel and there is. Lot to do and see in this small town including walks, boat trips to see the majestic coastline and views from the sea of Cathedral Cove. It is a Fishermans Dream town fishing trips galore for Marlin and Kingfish. Mercury Bay Game Angling Club is very active and can sort you out with a trip if need be.
In short a great place to visit and Sovereign on the Pier is recommended highly.
Points for improvement?
Bedside lights not bright enough to read by and plastic covers on pillows

Room Tip: We liked room 34 on th first floor for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Awesome place, loved it will definitely be back, friendly, helpful management, great apartment. The place to stay if going to Whitianga

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed three nights in a beautiful 2 bedroom with en-suite overlooking the pool. The decor and facilities were excellent and the staff were very helpful, staying late for us to check in after we were delayed. The pool and spa pool are lovely with nice views.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
16.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Park Apartments
Marina Park Apartments
#6 of 23 in Whitianga
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 23 in Whitianga
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Pier on the waterways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Pier on the waterways

Property: Sovereign Pier on the waterways
Address: 73 South Highway | Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sovereign Pier on the waterways 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star resort delivering great holiday experiences 2nd to none with guaranteed water views, spacious modern suites,(1,2 or 3 bedrooms). Your ideal honeymoon or holiday location. Facilities include FREE in room Wi-Fi, super-sized spa pool, lap pool and tennis court, gym and kayak hire. Suites all have designer kitchens, spacious dining, lounge and bedrooms with walk-in wardrobes in master bedroom, providing all the comforts of home and more. Water views guaranteed with all Suites located on the waterfront with peaceful relaxing views of the Waterways & mountain range beyond; set amongst landscaped grounds, just minutes from the beach, Whitianga is spoilt for choice with many cafes, bars & restaurants, ensuring all tastes are catered for, only a 1.5Km walk to the centre of the township. Cosy gas fires/or heat pumps complete the picture for the colder months. A full laundry is provided within each Suite.Unique to Sovereign Pier is their own private boat ramp; and ample FREE parking for cars & boat trailers. Guests with large power boats and yachts can also rent a marina berth, subject to availability. They have 24hr security in their gated complex for your peace of mind and a private lockable garage is provided with each Suite. Kayaks & quadricycle are available for hire. Whitianga is a New Zealand coastal town on the move. Often considered the Coromandel's jewel in the crown - It marks the gateway to spectacular deep sea fishing and diving as well as swimming, bush walking, scenic cruises, soaking in a hot pool at Hot Water Beach at low tide, or indulging yourself for a massage at the famous Whitianga Lost Spring Hot Mineral pools & Spa, horse riding, surf and line fishing, kayaking, relaxed shopping, dining on local cuisine, golfing, bone carving - Sovereign Pier sits in the center of all of this,in the peaceful location of the Whitianga waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sovereign Pier on the waterways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Pier On The Waterways Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing