We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sovereign Pier on the Waterways
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grumpy's Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makona Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
141
22
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
22
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate garageyvonne and paulwhole complexstunning apartmentspa poolhelpful managementbig apartmentfriendly greetingstarter packlovely resortwould highly recommend this placefabulous place to staybeautiful arealarge balconythree bedroomanywhere in the worldlate check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are beautiful. Very high standards throughout. They are nice enough to live in, let alone stay there on holiday.
Very well equipped with things you need. The managers were helpful and attentive if we needed assistance.
When we were there the weather was awful so I don't think we saw it in its best light. However, we used the outdoor hottub - don't be out off by bad weather as we had great fun and it's as big as some hotel pools!
My only suggestions would be 1) bathrobes in the rooms would have been nice
2) the option to have a fuller starter pack - cereals bread etc as we arrived late Due to unforeseen circumstances and were a little low on things.
3) an option to have a little more service - even if you had to pay an extra fee. For example beds made, bins emptied etc.

Please note the accommodation clearly states self service but once we were relaxed in the beautiful rooms we discussed this would be a good idea.

Would return to this beautiful apartment. Really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the Waterways, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

We really appreciate you taking time to review our accommodation and thank you for your kind comments and suggestions. We wish you safe travels and invite you back for another stay in good weather, so you have the opportunity to enjoy the great many attractions and sights Whitianga has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the apartments for 3 nights from March 28 and were completely blown away by how fantastic they are. We had a warm, friendly welcome from Yvonne and were given the key to villa 21. This was a ground floor unit with views on to the marina and a wonderful garden space. The apartment itself was so spacious, modern and clean that we took one look and decided we would stay in and cook - it was too lovely to leave!
It's an easy 15 minute walk to town, which we did on our second night but we stayed in again on our third such was the comfort.
Whitianga is a great base for exploring the Peninsula and Sovereign Pier is THE perfect place to relax. Thanks so much, we really hope to see you again.

Room Tip: All look great. Garden on ground floor, balcony on first.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the Waterways, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

All I can say to that amazing review is WOW! And of course thank you so much for your outstanding comments. It made my day to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and to hear you enjoyed & appreciated Sovereign Pier for all its outstanding qualities. It was definitely our pleasure to host your stay and we look forward to having your back again in the future. Wishing you many happy & safe days travelling in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

These are near new apartments overlooking the Whitianga Waterways. They are well presented and in a quiet location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a huge lounge and outside deck. We used the barbeque on the deck.They are about 1km from the town centre and the beach

Room Tip: They are all good overlooking the water
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the Waterways, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to do a review. It's great to hear people enjoy the lovely big decks and the barbeques provided with each of our Villas, as well our peaceful feeling on their return, from walking to the town centre. Wishing you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a lovely stay here, we enjoyed the space and most of all the view onto the waterway. It was in a handy location, close to the town centre, but still felt like we were away from it all.
The rooms were large and the walk in wardrobe was very handy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the Waterways, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review Sovereign Pier on the Waterways. It is great to meet people that appreciate our "point of difference" that you are staying in a large apartment suite with all the space and comforts of home. Our extremely peaceful location means it is fun to make the short enjoyable walk to the busy little township and a pleasure to return to the peace and quiet at the end of your walk. Hoping you will return for another stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

For a serviced apartment styled accommodation, Sovereign Piers is most definitely up there. Even the ground floor was good! Clean, tidy grounds, friendly onsite manager with a great deal of local knowledge.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovpier, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the Waterways, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Many thanks for taking time to share your experience. It was our pleasure to host your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the ground floor Villas as that would be my pick with the lovely lawn and easy walk along path to the pool. Wishing you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews