We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sovereign Pier on the waterways
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing...”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed a night at Sovereign Pier in Whitianga. Absolutely superb and to a high standard. The venue, the service and location are amazing. Thank you Sovereign Pier Whitianga. From: Fey Costar

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi there Fey. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience. I was very jealous to hear you were spending a day indulging at the Lost Spring with their TLS Combo, that we offer our guests at a 10% discount. We are delighted that you chose Sovereign Pier for your special occasion, and hope we will see you again in the Summer. Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
89
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

These apartments are fantastic. Me and my girlfriend went over the weekend to celebrate my birthday, and we loved it. The apartments are beautiful, and spotless and clean. The view from the balcony is great, and the spa gave us to chance to chillout at the end of the day. The lady on reception was extremely friendly. Great location too, only 2 mins drive into Whit. Would definitely recommend. We'll be back again

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment number two, which is the upstairs apartment on the end, so its nice and seclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franksy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic holiday experience. It's great that you have had the chance to unwind and enjoy the facilities that we have to offer. We encourage our guests to book ahead so we can offer them the quiet rooms (away from the action at the pool), if that is their desire. It is our pleasure to invite you back for another stay in the summer, so you can enjoy the lap pool and the tennis court and maybe an excursion down the picturesque waterways in our kayaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pimlico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent high quality accommodation with loads of space. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which was very spacious with luxury fittings throughout. Very friendly reception who gave us heaps of information about the area and meal options. Would not hesitate to recommend and hope we get the opportunity to stay at your beautiful apartments again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwrodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is great to hear our guests enjoy our biggest "point of difference", spaciousness. Because these Villa Suites were designed as full sized homes, they really are a refreshing change from all the compact accommodation as they boast separate areas for a full sized kitchen, dining area and lounge as well as a full-sized spacious bedroom with walk-in wardrobe, (nothing compact about that).
These really do have all the comforts of home including the size. Wishing you safe travels. It is my pleasure to welcome you back anytime for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location, huge room, clean tidy and a lovely warm fire, ideal for the cold nights. We stayed three nights and got quite settled. While the apartment is self catering we ate out and only cooked breakfast one day. We extended our stay as the location is so central. Highly recommended.
Niall & Marian Perth WA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noggy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Again we express our gratitude for such kind and accurate comments.Our cosy gas fires create such a wonderful atmosphere in the suites that they are a real favourite and I am sure that it is the reason many guests return for a second stay with us. It is great that you found the many local restaurants and cafes so enticing that you mostly ate out. Our huge designer kitchens are a real joy to cook in, however we are so spoilt for choice with the variety of cafes, pubs, breweries, wineries and bars that is seems a shame to "eat in" while on holiday, when there are so many places to investigate. We love having the Australians here as they are always fun to talk to and seem to share a common love of the great outdoors and all Whitianga has to offer. Hoping you will return for another stay as it was our pleasure to have you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was a great place to stay for a few days. The location was fantastic with lots of things to do on the door step (don't miss the 'Lost Spring Thermal Pool'). The staff at Sovereign were really helpful and friendly and the apartments were excellent....Clean, lovely kitchen, great large beds, fires, a superb deck overlooking the marina ..... Thoroughly enjoyed it all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We would like to express our sincere thanks for such a glowing and detailed review of not only our Resort but your praise of the fantastic "Jewel" of Whitianga, The Lost Spring. It is such a pleasure to host happy and satisfied guests and hope you also had a chance to try our lap pool and the super-spa pool allowing you to enjoy the sight of the fish jumping in the marina. We welcome you back with your friends for another stay in one of our 6 person suites. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

What a location!!! A bit pricey, but worth it. Everything you need in the apartment. One drawback is that for the price you pay is that making use of the kayaks could be included. Great for fishing from the piers using light rods.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to share your wonderful experience at Sovereign Pier with future guests. Great to hear that you enjoyed the fishing too. As the kayaks are our personal ones, we charge a small fee of $20 is to cover replacement and repairs when necessary. We are flexible with the time, when in low demand and allow up to 2 hours use without extra charge. Wishing you safe travels and hope you will come back again for another great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This villa is a place we will come back to.
We were impressed from the moment we entered the reception area by the helpfulness and friendliness of our hosts and we were absolutely delighted with the villa itself. So much space, everything you need at you fingertips. A small issue with the broadband were solved within a few minutes of calling. The view on the waterways is just fabulous and we took so many sunrise photos! Thank you guys, this was 5 heavenly days!

Room Tip: We loved left side. Away from the spa, giving us the quiet we wanted, but I am sure any room will do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S, Manager at Sovereign Pier on the waterways, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for those kind comments and for taking time to share your experience. It was our pleasure to host your stay and we would love to welcome you back for another relaxing holiday, sometime in the future. Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
16.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Park Apartments
Marina Park Apartments
#6 of 23 in Whitianga
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 23 in Whitianga
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Pier on the waterways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Pier on the waterways

Property: Sovereign Pier on the waterways
Address: 73 South Highway | Coromandel, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sovereign Pier on the waterways 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star resort delivering great holiday experiences 2nd to none with guaranteed water views, spacious modern suites,(1,2 or 3 bedrooms). Your ideal honeymoon or holiday location. Facilities include FREE in room Wi-Fi, super-sized spa pool, lap pool and tennis court, gym and kayak hire. Suites all have designer kitchens, spacious dining, lounge and bedrooms with walk-in wardrobes in master bedroom, providing all the comforts of home and more. Water views guaranteed with all Suites located on the waterfront with peaceful relaxing views of the Waterways & mountain range beyond; set amongst landscaped grounds, just minutes from the beach, Whitianga is spoilt for choice with many cafes, bars & restaurants, ensuring all tastes are catered for, only a 1.5Km walk to the centre of the township. Cosy gas fires/or heat pumps complete the picture for the colder months. A full laundry is provided within each Suite.Unique to Sovereign Pier is their own private boat ramp; and ample FREE parking for cars & boat trailers. Guests with large power boats and yachts can also rent a marina berth, subject to availability. They have 24hr security in their gated complex for your peace of mind and a private lockable garage is provided with each Suite. Kayaks & quadricycle are available for hire. Whitianga is a New Zealand coastal town on the move. Often considered the Coromandel's jewel in the crown - It marks the gateway to spectacular deep sea fishing and diving as well as swimming, bush walking, scenic cruises, soaking in a hot pool at Hot Water Beach at low tide, or indulging yourself for a massage at the famous Whitianga Lost Spring Hot Mineral pools & Spa, horse riding, surf and line fishing, kayaking, relaxed shopping, dining on local cuisine, golfing, bone carving - Sovereign Pier sits in the center of all of this,in the peaceful location of the Whitianga waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sovereign Pier on the waterways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Pier On The Waterways Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing