We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Shores apartments
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for two weeks 10/02/14-24/02/14the views just unbelievable the accomodation was just great ,the apartment had everything we needed and our host Thelma is just like the perfect mum , the apartment is five minutes away from town where everything you need is and we have already booked for next year can't wait.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Wow! What a great place to stay! We were 2 couples and had rented the upstairs apartment. Plenty of room coupled with an amazing view made for a most pleasant stay! We loved being able to cook a meal and enjoy it in the spotless kitchen/dining room! Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Thelma is so friendly, accommodating and helpful. We were going to do some water activities and she provided us with beach towels and advice! She is such a wonderful hostess! The place is spotless and very comfortable. We all really enjoyed our time spent here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinandroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked for 1 night February 2014 based on reviews on trip advisor - we stayed an extra night as it felt comfortable and I think great price for what you get and decided to recoup our tired travelling bodies and just do day trips
The views are amazing and Thelma is such a beautiful Lady
Full sized fridge for making ice for our esky, lounge to watch tv, full cooking facilities although we went out for dinner, shower pressure good, free wifi and sky tv
You can hear the waves breaking which makes a relaxing sound to sleep
being close to walk to dinner is the best especially if you enjoy a wine or 5 with dinner
Would definitely stop here again if coming to coromandel area again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

my husband and i absolutely LOVED our time here. the pictures don't do it justice! everything was very clean, (even the dishes) there is a small kitchen and outdoor bbq, and thelma was such a friendly and helpful host. not to mention that the beach is just across the street from the front door, and the view is absolutely gorgeous!! we would definitely come back, and strongly recommend it to anyone looking for some time away from it all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Having read all the reviews we had high expectations and its fair to say these were met and surpassed. We stayed in the upstairs apartment which was simply amazing! Plenty of room and a real home away from home feel. The real star though is the million dollar views from every part of the large living area and the proximity and access to the beach. This place has everything going for it and is nothing short of perfect. The host Thelma is warm and welcoming and very helpful and she makes it feel like you are visiting family. We could not have higher praise for Thelma and the Apartment. Easily one of the best, if not the best place we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Excellent base for exploring the Coromandel. Well appointed, beautiful appartment with lots of room and a great view of the ocean across Buffalo Beach Road. We had the upstairs apartment and were late arriving but nothing was too much trouble for Thelma! She went out of her way to assist us. We recommend Sandy Shores to everyone!
It even has a lift to get upstairs!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip_and_Honor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sessame, Manager at Sandy Shores apartments, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Yes the lift is a great help with suitcases etc Also the spa bath makes this unit most attractive I believe I have the best views on the bay thanks Thelma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at the Sandy Shores for a weekend in January 2013 and absolutely loved it! It was right across from the beach and a quick 5 min walk into town for the ferry or 5 minutes in the opposite direction to the Lost Springs. We were in the bottom unit. There is a bedroom and a full bed in the living room. On occasion you can hear people walking on the street but the sounds of the ocean waves make it all okay. There is a full kitchen (including a microwave, which is a big deal in NZ) and had all of the necessities to make your own home-cooked meals. The owner, Thelma, was also very nice and accommodating. For the price, space, and location, it was probably the best place I stayed in New Zealand. So if you are planning to visit Whitianga, I highly recommend the Sandy Shores.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McNulty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sessame, Manager at Sandy Shores apartments, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thanks for that It was apleasure to have you stay with us Thelma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Shores apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shores apartments

Property: Sandy Shores apartments
Address: 14 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing