We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great until .....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Shores apartments
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Initially we loved this place. The location was fabulous within 5 minutes walking distance to the main street of Waitangi and a few minutes more to the wharf. We had the apartment which takes up the whole of the first floor - there are two smaller apartments on the ground floor and the owner, Thelma, has the top floor. Plenty of parking on site and initially Thelma was very helpful, even hanging our washing out one morning. The view is fabulous and on crossing Buffalo Beach Road you are right on the beach. It is a great apartment for 2 couples having 2 good sized bedrooms each with a seaview. The living area is very spacious and the kitchen well equipped. Some of the furniture is a little dated but is very comfortable - apart from the balcony setting which is metal and pretty hard to sit on for any length of time.

However, and this is a very big however, on our second to last day on our way out for coffee Thelma asked when we were checking out. As we had arrived on Monday and had booked (and had 3 emails confirming this ) 6 nights we said after breakfast tomorrow (Sunday). She informed us that we were due out that day and had an "AA" booking due in at 2pm. I produced copies of the exchange of emails confirming our date of departure, but to no avail. This "AA" booking was obviously very important in that we were thrown out a day prior to our confirmed departure date. We ended up in a pretty ghastly unit further out of town as there was no decent accommodation left and were unable to access Sunday's night's accommodation a day earlier. This left a really sour taste - we had had a great week and this really ruined what had been an up till then top accommodation experience.

I have been a 'frequent traveller' for more than 50 years in many countries - our family business was tourism - and have certainly experienced the highs and lows of accommodation but this is the first time an accommodation manager/owner has behaved in such a cavalier fashion.

Room Tip: The large two bedroom apartment on the first floor has great views and is very spacious
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sez5446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Shores apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for two weeks 10/02/14-24/02/14the views just unbelievable the accomodation was just great ,the apartment had everything we needed and our host Thelma is just like the perfect mum , the apartment is five minutes away from town where everything you need is and we have already booked for next year can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Wow! What a great place to stay! We were 2 couples and had rented the upstairs apartment. Plenty of room coupled with an amazing view made for a most pleasant stay! We loved being able to cook a meal and enjoy it in the spotless kitchen/dining room! Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Thelma is so friendly, accommodating and helpful. We were going to do some water activities and she provided us with beach towels and advice! She is such a wonderful hostess! The place is spotless and very comfortable. We all really enjoyed our time spent here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinandroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked for 1 night February 2014 based on reviews on trip advisor - we stayed an extra night as it felt comfortable and I think great price for what you get and decided to recoup our tired travelling bodies and just do day trips
The views are amazing and Thelma is such a beautiful Lady
Full sized fridge for making ice for our esky, lounge to watch tv, full cooking facilities although we went out for dinner, shower pressure good, free wifi and sky tv
You can hear the waves breaking which makes a relaxing sound to sleep
being close to walk to dinner is the best especially if you enjoy a wine or 5 with dinner
Would definitely stop here again if coming to coromandel area again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

my husband and i absolutely LOVED our time here. the pictures don't do it justice! everything was very clean, (even the dishes) there is a small kitchen and outdoor bbq, and thelma was such a friendly and helpful host. not to mention that the beach is just across the street from the front door, and the view is absolutely gorgeous!! we would definitely come back, and strongly recommend it to anyone looking for some time away from it all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Having read all the reviews we had high expectations and its fair to say these were met and surpassed. We stayed in the upstairs apartment which was simply amazing! Plenty of room and a real home away from home feel. The real star though is the million dollar views from every part of the large living area and the proximity and access to the beach. This place has everything going for it and is nothing short of perfect. The host Thelma is warm and welcoming and very helpful and she makes it feel like you are visiting family. We could not have higher praise for Thelma and the Apartment. Easily one of the best, if not the best place we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Excellent base for exploring the Coromandel. Well appointed, beautiful appartment with lots of room and a great view of the ocean across Buffalo Beach Road. We had the upstairs apartment and were late arriving but nothing was too much trouble for Thelma! She went out of her way to assist us. We recommend Sandy Shores to everyone!
It even has a lift to get upstairs!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
3  Thank Philip_and_Honor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sessame, Manager at Sandy Shores apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Yes the lift is a great help with suitcases etc Also the spa bath makes this unit most attractive I believe I have the best views on the bay thanks Thelma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
16.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Shores apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shores apartments

Address: 14 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing