We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambience on Aquila
Nearby Hotels
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
11
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Excellent room, very spacious, with many windows letting in lots of light and views of the waterways/yatchs. The bathroom was amazing, it had double sinks and the shower was giant newly completed tile with two separate shower heads. The breakfast was one of the best I've had for a self-serve in NZ: fresh fruit, cheese, tomato, toast, coffee, cereal, and fancy yogurt. Another highlight was coversation with Henry & Kaye, they are extremely interesting and well-travelled.

Room Tip: We had the upstairs giant room and it was VERY nice.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nxtadventure88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We loved staying at this boutique style B&B located in the whitianga waterways - great views from the room and deck - check out the sunsets! It was just a short stroll to the town.and the hosts were really friendly yet discreet. Treated ourselves to one of the theraputic massages available - such a shame we couldnt stay longer - recommend it - will be back!!

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs captains cabin suite - very private
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just a scenic 25 minute flight from Auckland International Airport, or a leisurely 2 1/2 hour drive from New Zealand's largest city, Auckland, through the beautiful Coromandel peninsular is the beach side town of Whitianga.
I have been lucky enough to enjoy the incredible hospitality of Kaye and Henry at their 5 star bed and breakfast on many an occasion and have always left feeling refreshed and relaxed.
Situated in the Whitianga waterways with your own private jetty, amazing views and tranquility, Ambience on Aquila is only a short 10 minute walk to the local bars, cafes, shops and thermal pools. World quality golden beaches, fishing, sailing and general relaxing. What more could you ask for.
Guaranteed to be a vacation you will remember.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeMaguireNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have stayed at Ambience a couple of times now with our two small children. Kaye and Henry are always welcoming and provide a relaxed family friendly atmosphere with superb food.
The kids loved jumping off the boat jetty. They also still talk about the trip out to the Mercury Islands with Kaye and Henry, where we saw stingrays, dolphins and whales.
Checkout the downstairs shower with real fossils in the granite work.

Room Tip: Upstairs is a little piece of heaven.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davethenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our early December trip to the Coromandel was punctuated by a most charming surprise - an upmarket B & B situated right on the inland waterway with great views, excellent food and the best hospitality from innkeepers Kaye and Henry. After a relaxing cocktail with tapas and great conversation, our hosts goaded us into unloading our Stand Up Paddle Boards and taking an evening cruise up and down the canals. We ended up paddling until the moon came up - reflecting off the water like "Moon River"! We're still talking about that great evening. We will continue to give Ambience on Aquila the highest recommendation for that part of the peninsula!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquilaAmbience, Owner at Ambience on Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

thankyou so much for your awesome comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews