We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cambells Steak & Ale House - CLOSED

Cambells Steak & Ale House
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I went during Scallop Festival it was busy and it was loud but the food was delicious, good portions, nicely served, the place is charming, just adorable and the staff where great, it was thanks to her we didn’t mind waiting. Cheers!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arabella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    9
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place to have a decent steak meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a great place to have good quality steaks. The steaks were cooked to our desired preference and tender to the bite. Their pasta was good too. You order your food at the counter and wait for it to be served. Food wait time was reasonable. And cleanliness of the restaurant was very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jepzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went to Campbells Steak & Ale House, and had the most tender and delicious steak meal, and scallops, thank you, very very enjoyable and great atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deanyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville N.Z.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great venue for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We held my daughters wedding at this venue, -- what a great spot! Thank you Suzanne & Greg for a very special day. From the wedding ceremony under the shade of the great old pohutukawa tree in the garden bar to the reception in side the beautiful timber building, which oozes character, it all went exceptionally well.
Went back on another day for a meal and food again was superb! Thanks again we will be back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morrinsvillekiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Campbells Steak House, Whitianga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Have been there for a meal more than 6 times now and every single time I am very impressed with the quality of their steaks and the excellent chef who always cooks the steak exactly as requested, medium rare. Sounds simple, but it is not. I have been disappointed many times at other venues. This restaurant produces consistent high quality steak meals which are delicious and is now my favourite restaurant in Whitianga and will not order steak anywhere else. The host is very friendly and really has a great voice when he decides to sing along with the live entertainment and has a repetoire of jokes you would not believe. Prices are reasonable for a family and their free pick up and return home transport is very much appreciated so we can enjoy their quality wines and my butcher mate (who is very particular about the quality of meat and how it is cooked) can enjoy his beers. Their menu also offers a variety of meals and I always recommend Campbells Steak House restaurant to visitors and friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robidibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cambells Steak & Ale House also viewed

Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing