We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Leighton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leighton Lodge
Ranked #31 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Leighton Lodge is a lovely place to stay in a beautiful location, the beach is fantastic.Wally and Maire are fantastic hosts and really made us feel welcome. Nothing was a problem and the meals were great with lots of local product. We'll definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

A great way to start our New Zealand vacation after the drive from Auckland to be warmly
welcomed by Maire and Wally. We had the comfortable and spacious self-catering apartment but had not brought food with us so Maire rustled up a tasty supper for us on arrival. Delicious breakfasts with home-baked bread were shared in their home overlooking Opito Bay. Nothing was too much trouble. They gave us great advice about where to walk on the peninsula. The walk to Waitaipa Bay was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asphodel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is the perfect place when you want to relax away from the hustle and bustle in a laid back Coromandel seaside community with a wonderful white sand-beach just a minute´s walk away.
The beautifully designed wooden house overlooks the whole of Opito Bay from its hillside location and you can enjoy gorgeous sea- and beachviews from the own private balcony of your room. The room itself is very cosy and tastefully appointed in maritime themes.
Hosts are superb, very friendly and helpful - lovely breakfasts "en famille" with delicious home baked bread & muesli , lots of information about local nature and communities and always some stories for a good, hearty laugh. Bliss! Don´t miss it! Thank you Maire and Wally - if we wouldn´t live on the other side of the world we would be back rather sooner than later.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 717Gerlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Opito is a lovely bay off the beaten track but well situated for many of the sights within the Coromandel peninsula. There's nothing to do in the bay itself other than to chill out and walk along the beach so those wanting to eat or drink out will need to take a 30 minute drive into Whittianga. Staying at Leighton Lodge is like staying at someone's home (which it is) rather than staying at a B&B. The hosts Maire and Wally are very friendly and welcoming as are the dogs and cat! We stayed in the Pacific room which was nice and had great views of the bay and the neighbourhood. Meals are taken with other guests and the hosts around a communal table - we had dinner 2 nights. This was great for those looking for some authentic Kiwi hospitality but perhaps not for those wanting a more private break - although the self contained dowstairs Seahorse suite would provide that. Food was tasty and light and the dinners with wine good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed at the Leighton Lodge and loved the "off the track" location; 3/4 of an hour over a winding gravel road that landed you at a B & B just back of a one km long bay and beach. The view from our room deck was beautiful. The room was very comfortable and the hosts were extremely helpful and nice. We opted to have dinner with them each night rather than travel back to town after our days of touring the local sights. It was November and the weather fine for travelling around to several other beaches and walks. It was too cool to swim in the ocean. This is a place to relax, if you wish and do nothing but take the occasional walk to the nearby beaches or head out in your car furhter afield. Shell collecting on the beach was fun. We stayed in NZ for five weeks and this was one of the best places we went to.

Room Tip: If you plan to go you can arrange ahead of time with the owners to have dinner on arrival as there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreenandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband had always wanted to stay in Opito Bay, never having quite made it there before. It is spectacular. It is totally isolated at the end of a fantastic scenic drive which is only partially tar-sealed. Opito Bay has the most amazing beach to walk on where you hardly ever see anybody else out of season. The B&B is situated in an excellent position up a driveway high enough to be able to see the beach from the dining room windows which face two sides. We had the Sea Horse Suite which is self contained but still ate breakfasts and the first dinner with Maire and Wally. They are very friendly and eat with their guests which is nice. If Maire asks if you want dinner the first night, say ‘yes’ as it is too far to drive back to Whitianga which is the nearest place for a meal. We had a very nice 3-course dinner which she had prepared. Maybe we were a little disappointed in the breakfasts although the homemade bread was excellent. I suppose we are a bit reliant on a more substantial and varied breakfast in the morning. Although there were a lot of cupboards and drawers in the Sea Horse Suite most of them were full of (presumably) the owners things so I couldn’t actually unpack our suitcases.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplepixie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We arrived at Leighton Lodge after a long drive through heavy rain and wind, Wally, Maire their dog and cat gave us a warm welcome with a home cooked meal and entertaining conversation. The next day when the weather cleared we enjoyed a long walk along the beautiful beach with Wally who is very knowledgeable about local history in the area. Our room overlooked the Pacific Ocean and Mercury Island and we enjoyed our private balcony.
We will be back.
Rog and Barb

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
9.1 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
8.7 mi away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#2 of 25 in Whitianga
116 reviews
9.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
9.3 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leighton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leighton Lodge

Address: 17 Stewart Place | RD 2, Whitianga, Whitianga 3592, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £88 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Leighton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing