We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite property in New Zealand”
Review of 970 Lonely Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
970 Lonely Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Having spend a whirlwind week in New Zealand on a work trip staying in many different luxury properties, I arrived at 970 not quite sure what to expect. Immediately on arrival (despite surprising poor Loring by being early!) I was welcomed as if I was a long lost friend.

The Lodge is stunningly designed, understated, simple and very elegant with beautiful art and stunning furnishings. The garden is so pretty, with lanterns hanging in the trees and a fabulous roll-top bath hidden away, perfect for a balmy summer night of star-gazing with a glass of champagne! Each room is unique and extremely comfortable, with private decking and a light, bright feel.

Loring is the most wonderfully welcoming hostess, with a real passion for the property and she is truly a chef in disguise! Her prawn, zucchini and lemon risotto was to die for, even after the delicious selection of local cheese which was gratefully enjoyed. Before dinner, we had strolled over the hill to the secluded Lonely Bay, from which the property takes its name, and watched the moon rise and looked out for dolphins, whilst combing the beach for beautiful shells.

I honestly can't say enough superlatives about this gorgeous little hideaway and hope to return very soon for an extended holiday with my family, thank you Loring for such a magical stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livcsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for 970 Lonely Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

From the moment we pulled up we were treated like long lost friends. A very warm and welcoming environment in a lodge complete with the cosy fire places (for cooler nights), and wonderful outdoor living for the warm balmy weather. Even an outdoor bath! Luxury and privacy guaranteed. A night out at a great restaurant only a very short car and ferry journey away completed our weekend of bliss.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I had the good fortune to stay at 970 while touring in the Cormandel. This Lodge was recommended to us by our private guide as we were looking for an upscale venue where my adult family could enjoy quiet time together away from the touristy areas. This location was perfect in all regards inclusive of our rooms, the property, the beaches and the proximity to restaurants, wineries and thermal spas. Quickly upon arrival, you are made to feel so comfortable that you feel like you are visiting with good friends.
The furnishings are of a high quality and are an elegant mix between new and antique. Our two rooms were decorated beautifully and there were even russian tea cakes placed in our rooms to enjoy. The furnishings in the bathrooms were of the highest quality. The decks off of each of our rooms provided private outdoor space with wonderful views. The cheeses and dips upon arrival, and the home made banana cake after dinner, were enjoyed by my entire family. Breakfast was delicious and there were many choices including homemade granola and free range eggs cooked any way we liked. The lounges, dining room, other sitting rooms, and outdoor terraces provided many private spaces to enjoy simply relaxing, watching television, or just the surfing the internet.
The Lodge sits on a wonderfully maintained piece of property- the plantings and views are just beautiful. To add to the attractiveness, a beautiful and secluded beach is just a 4 minute walk through an adjoining Estuary. We walked the beach at 8 AM, armed with a cup of coffee before breakfast, and then we returned again after breakfast to appreciate the views.
The manager of 970, Loring, is a wonderful host. She is charming, helpful and a pleasure to be around. She helped us with dinner suggestions, and she personally walked with us to navigate a trail to get to another amazing cove and beach. The views were spectacular.
The Lodge is worthy of a photo spread in Architectural Digest. The furnishings are of the highest quality. Being a New Yorker, this Lodge could certainly be mistaken for a large beach front home in the Hamptons.
We booked two of the rooms for only one night. Let me just say that the only mistake that I made was not to have planned to have stayed here a few days longer. My guide told me that the Coromandel is a hidden gem, not frequented by tourists, yet just a couple of hours from Auckland. He was spot on.
I believe that the only reason why I was able to book two rooms was that the Lodge recently opened. Next year mark my word and plan on booking well in advance to enjoy this gem. Feel free to email me with any questions. I've attached some pictures that we took, but check out their website for pics of the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whenzuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at 970 Lonely bay on the night of our wedding on the 5th of March 11, the morning of our wedding I got ready at this amazing lodge with my bridesmaids, Lorring was wonderful and had made some delicious muffins and scones for our morning tea, she was such a pleasure and made our stay so enjoyable, the night of our wedding we came home to lovely rose petals over our bed & another delicious breaky the next day! The lodge is such a beautiful place and I highly recommend to stay here for any occasion, fabulous setting for weddings and wedding pics! Thank you Lorring and Jane, we loved every minute of it!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulzMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My Husband and I were lucky enough to have our wedding at '970' on 18/02/11.
The ceremony was at the northern end of the beach which is a 2 min walk to the reception at '970'. The weather was amazing that goodness! The guests raved about the beauty of this property as soon as the arrived. Photos do not do it justice believe me. The gorgeous landscaping, the outdoor bath, the outdoor gas fire on the second floor deck, the decor inside, bathrooms elegantly detailed..... just amazing. Loring, the Manager of 970 went out of her way to help with every last detail - even things we hadn't thought of!
The close proximity to the beach and to the ferry to get to Whitianga make this place one of the most sought after for celebrations like ours.
Our Wedding party of 3 bridesmaids and 3 groomsmen all stayed in the lavish rooms and then my gorgeous Husband and I stayed the second night by ourselves.
We all had a brunch at My Mum and Dads b&b the next day and the most common comment for the wedding it was 10/10.
I would recommend this beautiful venue to anyone and everyone 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We spent New Years at this wonderful property which is new to the market. It is a very well designed house with plenty of interesting spaces, great views and a really relaxed atmosphere. Cooks Beach is directly in front and is great but the five minute walk to Lonely Bay beach is well worth it.
The property is clean, bright and a priviledge to stay in. Loring, the manager, is incredibly helpful and gave us all the local advice we needed. She also prepared amazing breakfasts for us which included her mother's secret musili recipe. Our only regret was not arranging for them to cook us dinner which should be eaten on the top deck with the view out to sea - our reason to return next year.
This property has all the ingredients to be a great success and will probably end up with a waiting list of people wanting to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finewine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank du_schwaderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
15.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
1.4 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 23 in Whitianga
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 970 Lonely Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 970 Lonely Bay

Address: 970 Purangi Road | RD1, Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: £348 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 970 Lonely Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
970 Lonely Bay Lodge is a luxury boutique accommodation in Cooks Beach, Whitianga, New Zealand. Accommodation includes three one bedroom suites and a premier two bedroom (honeymoon) suite, all with en-suite, extensive mini-bar, spacious terrace and bush or water views of Purangi Estuary and Cooks Beach. Lodge accommodation facilities include a library, TV/AV 'snug' with Bang & Olufsen plasma television / sound system, separate guest indoor and outdoor bathrooms, solarium and deck, and multiple fireplaces. The boutique lodge offers a perfect venue for corporate events, weddings, honeymoons and romantic getaways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 970 Lonely Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing