We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 970 Lonely Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
970 Lonely Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow - what a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 weeks touring the N Island of NZ. Though my wife did most of the bookings for the tour it fell to me to find 2 night's accommodation in the Coromandels. Lets just say I nailed it with 970 Lonely Bay.
The property is absolutely stunning in itself, but add to this the incredibly warm and generous care and attention to detail lavished upon you by the fabulous host Loring and you will be hard pressed to find a better place to stay anywhere in NZ. Her delicious pre dinner nibbles and world class breakfasts will leave you feeling very spoilt.
The rooms are gorgeous in every way. Modern finishes, ultra comfortable beds, beautifully appointed bathrooms, amazing natural lighting - its impossible to find fault here.
Its location close to the beach in the pretty little Cooks Beach area is hard to beat and hopping on the nearby passenger ferry across the water to Whitianga makes for a really lovely night out in one of their many restaurants over there.
We would head back to 970 in a flash - it really is a special and impressive place made even better by its fabulously fantastic host Loring.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George_Downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

My friends and I spent the final couple of days of our NY holidays in Australia and NZ in that stunning place. Starting from the the booking process, all the way to the very last detail of our stay, the attention to detail and hospitality were impecable. That luxury guest house is extremely well maintained and clean, as most of New Zealand, cozy, nicely located on a small hill near a river and the ocean at the same time. The sandy beach is only 5 min stroll away and the beach gear is all provided by the lodge. Hahei and the Hot Water Beach is 10 min drive, while Whitianga town with all it's shops and excellent restaurants can be accessed by passenger ferry in less than 15 min.

The garden is very nice and this is where we met the lodge owner Jane, who opened herself on the second day of our stay, after she learnt that we were from Russia. She was extremely busy with making the garden beautiful, but took an hour to discuss the works of Tolstoy and global politics, coming through as diverse and interesting person.

But the heart of this house was a lady of thousand talents, who made us feel more than at home. Loring, the villa manager, miraculously could be an excellent cook, an interesting companion, a knowleagable pass time advisor, and all of that to every guest of the lodge without anybody feeling left out. The farewell dinner, which she prepared for six guests was one of the best meals we had in New Zealand, served on the outside terrace in a very romantic setting. I will never forget her care, when she brought me a hot water bottle in the middle of the night, for my strained back after too much bungy jumping in Queenstown. Loring is just a fantastic personality and a real character - and a true momma to her guests. All in all, this was the brightest spot of our journey and we strongly want to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexeynavnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I have never stayed anywhere so impressive in my life and I have travelled to a lot of places. I was part of a wedding party who stayed here earlier in the year and it was truly amazing. I'd been for a tour through it about 4 months prior to the wedding and nothing was too much trouble for Loring. The same with the wedding and the stay - aboslutely nothing was too much trouble for her guests. Everything went off without a hitch, the venue was amazing, accommodations super comfortable and the breakfasts were to die for. I felt like being at home the whole time, except my own home is not on this grand scale. Cannot recommend it enough for either a wedding, or just a fabulous special occasion holiday away.

Room Tip: Any room is fabulous - they all have their benefits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We can't express how glad we are that we chose to have our wedding at 970 Lonely Bay Lodge. From our initial contact through to arrival and departure, Loring's boundless energy, skill and attention to the finest detail ensured our stay was seamless with nothing being too much trouble and every need anticipated and catered for. An absolutely stunning setting and a truly awesome hostess - thank you so much for making our special day and indeed our whole experience with you perfect, and one that we'll not forget.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wainui721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at 970 Lonely Bay for 2 nights as part of a long weekend away. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble for Loring from the welcoming tea on arrival, checking tide times, taking us to see the fireworks, loaning us shovels for hot water beach and the truly delicious dinner sourced from local ingredients the list goes on.

The house itself is beautiful and the small touches make it that bit extra special, for example beach towels in a beach bag in the room. There are so many different areas to relax - the private deck off our room, the sun room, the main deck, the library, the side deck, the garden and even the outdoor bath. The location on the estuary, a couple of minutes walk to Cooks Beach or the slightly more strenuous walk to Lonely Bay itself, make this an idyllic spot.

Never before have I been made to feel so welcome and relaxed. Loring thank you for looking after us so well - how we are going to cope with out you I don't know. Jane you have a fantastic house and thank you for sharing it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We arrived late to be met by a very worried Loring who was concerned as to where we had got to....we ended up the wrong side thevriver which only has a passenger ferry.

This set the style of our all too short stay.

Relax have a glass of wine ...we did sitting in a beutifully decorated lodge with a roaring fire and the aroma of a recently baked banana cake.

Nothing was too much trouble for Loring wh rang booked and took us to an excellent local restaurant, then collected us and joined us for a glass of wine relaxing in front f e fire after a long drive from the bay of islands.

Our room was impeccable, bright with a walk in shower and a large ath with a view of the ocean. Beutifull linen and bigbfluffy towels.

Breakfast on the sun saked terace was a joy...home made muesli lots of fresh fruits ,daily papers frash croissants etc etc....wonderful

Loring sent us off with directions to local ammenities arranged a boat trip to see the spectacular coastline.

That afternoon we all sat on the terrace drinking a glass of rose whilst enjoying the previosly mentioned banana cake.

Again Loring provided taxi services to the ferry to Whitiangi where she had booked our dinner ...which was an excellent choice at Salt.

Unfortunately we had to leave but not without exchanging e mail adresses so loring could pass on her recipe for banana cake ......plus others, shes a recipe fanatic....

Great stay ....you must go !

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had the pleasure of having our wedding reception at 970 Lonely Bay in March 2012 and couldn't have asked for a better venue. From the initial dealings with Loring (the Hostess) when making our initial enquiries, to booking the accommodation, to the pre-arrival arrangements, to the weekend itself, we couldn't have asked for a better location, venue and hostess.

Loring absolutely makes this property so very special. She couldn't do enough for us, and was a God-send on the wedding day itself.

We spent two nights at the Lodge; the night before and the night of the wedding, and didn't want to leave.

The Lodge itself is just gorgeous. It is beautifully decorated and furnished. So many gorgeous areas for the guests to mingle (and photos to be taken).

The review itself would not be complete if we did not mention the homemade granola. Delish! The breakfast included is out of this world!

Definitely recommended for either a wedding, a group gathering, or for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joda77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
15.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
7.3 mi away
Wairua Lodge
Wairua Lodge
#4 of 41 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 970 Lonely Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 970 Lonely Bay

Property: 970 Lonely Bay
Address: 970 Purangi Road | RD1, Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — 970 Lonely Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
970 Lonely Bay Lodge is a luxury boutique accommodation in Cooks Beach, Whitianga, New Zealand. Accommodation includes three one bedroom suites and a premier two bedroom (honeymoon) suite, all with en-suite, extensive mini-bar, spacious terrace and bush or water views of Purangi Estuary and Cooks Beach. Lodge accommodation facilities include a library, TV/AV 'snug' with Bang & Olufsen plasma television / sound system, separate guest indoor and outdoor bathrooms, solarium and deck, and multiple fireplaces. The boutique lodge offers a perfect venue for corporate events, weddings, honeymoons and romantic getaways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your 970 Lonely Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing