We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real slice of heaven”
Review of 970 Lonely Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
970 Lonely Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I cannot recommend 970 Lonely Bay Lodge highly enough. We spent two nights here to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and we literally cannot fault anything. Having travelled extensively overseas this has to rate as the best place we have stayed, and it is right on our doorstep. Our hosts, Graeme and Rosemary were attentive, but not obtrusive. The location and facities are superb....just trying to think of another special occasion to go back for. If you are looking somewhere to go that is something really special, then this is it....truly wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiKirstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a very attractive house a few minutes walk from Cooks Bay, where the explorer James Cook landed. It is a long sandy beach with safe swimming. Staying there is like being looked after by friends. Graeme and Rosemary are very attentive and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Dinner is not served but there are cakes available in the open plan kitchen and canapes are served in the early evening. Breakfast is substantial and delicious. We had booked in for three nights and wished that we were booked in for longer. We arrived at about 6.00 p.m. on our first evening and found that Rosemary had booked a table for dinner for us in a local restaurant. They were happy to advise about local restaurants and to book a table. One slight disadvantage is that Rosemary and Graeme do not live in the house, although they live in the next door house close by, and occasionally couldn't be found.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

With its narrow paths to desolate beaches, its modern, yet breezy open-air styling, its lavish but healthy breakfast spreads, its generous and thoughtful hosts and its impossibly lovely setting, Lonely Bay will win you over fast and woo you with happy memories for years to come. Rosemary and Graeme are like old friends that want to spoil you with their hospitality from the very moment you arrive. I can think of no better spot in New Zealand to while away a week, forgetting your cares.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

What a gem! Graeme and Rosemary were the most wonderful hosts and provided so many wonderful little touches to make this one of the best stays we have ever enjoyed anywhere in the world. Nicely located near some excellent beaches and walks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

As last step of wedding anniversary tour, the 970 lonely bay was perfect and I would put it in the first one of all the guesthouses visited during our trip in NZ.
The house is very beautiful , clean , well decorated and the warm welcome from Rosemary and Graham was lovely.
So relaxing , quiet with nice beaches very closed to the house.
They prepare a delicious full breakfast, a lot of juices, and fruits, served on the outside terrace in a very romantic setting.
Definitively I’ll recommend 970 Lonely bay to my friends and hope to come back.
Thx Rosemary and Graeme for this wonderful stay at the end of our journey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prytr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Greeted so nicely, only seconds after you drive into the parking by a wonderful couple, Rosemary and Graeme, the dream starts.
It's like you are in your own private lodge, assisted by Rosemary and Graeme, who spare no effort to make your stay the most pleasant you ever dreamed of. They take care of everything, from excursions to reservations to nice restaurants in Whitianga, only a few steps away thanks to the pedestrian ferry.
We were 4 in 2 of the 3 rooms at the lodge. Privacy assured in wonderfool rooms taken care of by Rosemary with a marvellous personal touch i.e. a shell with your first name !
They prepare a delicious breakfast, full of vitamins, and great pies.

This place is purely astonishing with access to a lonely beach with protected birds through a little bridge. Pure romance !

Thanks, Rosemary and Graeme, for this lovely weekend for us and our children, which we will never forget !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at 970 for just one night but wished we had booked in for more!
The house is stunning and the welcome given by Rosemary and Graham was second to none! They were relaxed, informative, so helpful and a joy to stay with.
So relaxing and great beaches and walks just on the doorstep
This is a MUST for anyone visiting the coromandel peninsula

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 99PeterN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
15.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
4.1 mi away
The Church Accommodation
1.4 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 970 Lonely Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 970 Lonely Bay

Address: 970 Purangi Road | RD1, Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: £354 - £2,564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 970 Lonely Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
970 Lonely Bay Lodge is a luxury boutique accommodation in Cooks Beach, Whitianga, New Zealand. Accommodation includes three one bedroom suites and a premier two bedroom (honeymoon) suite, all with en-suite, extensive mini-bar, spacious terrace and bush or water views of Purangi Estuary and Cooks Beach. Lodge accommodation facilities include a library, TV/AV 'snug' with Bang & Olufsen plasma television / sound system, separate guest indoor and outdoor bathrooms, solarium and deck, and multiple fireplaces. The boutique lodge offers a perfect venue for corporate events, weddings, honeymoons and romantic getaways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 970 Lonely Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing