We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albert Number 6

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albert Number 6
Ranked #9 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed here at the end of November and things have obviously improved since the earlier reviews. Excellent people in reception, always helpful. We had Room 15 which was large, clean and provided with TV, tea, coffee etc. Food for breakfast was provided in the room and was included in the NZ$95 we paid. Lots of restaurants close by as well as both the sea beach and the river estuary. We took the ferry across the river and did a lovely walk. There are shovels available to borrow for the visit to hot-water beach – well worth it, if a little bizarre !! We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    44
    20
    10
    1
See reviews for
34
50
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We had pre-booked this place on wotif.com a month prior. Points of interest:
Arrived - couldn't remember booking were going to charge us again!
Room was small and cramped
Bed to sit on was so hard - it would be better sleeping on the floor!
Alot of noise was coming from upstairs - walls exceptionally thin!
Dirty - had alot of black hair on side table by bed, basin was dirty, coffee stains on table and other places.
Decor was old dated and we weren't sure if the place had clean linen?
Charged $5 for an internet cable that didn't work
Had an outbreak of ants in the unit
Breakfast was dry bread in the fridge. (I thought had been left there by previous occupants - turned out it was breakfast!
All this was noted with 5 minutes of arriving.
We notified the owner asked for our money back (including the extra $5 charged for the invalid internet cable. ) He refused, said we were already committed - too bad we didn't like it, said the place was clean, didn't even wipe the tables or clean hair off the side and was abusive! We were horrified - Ended up leaving and getting a better place at a motorcamp that night - as no other places were available for the easter period.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w72885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We planned to stay there for 2 nights but end up staying an extra one. Hosts were always friendly and helpful, location is just walking distance from the beach, rooms were comfy and clean, and breakfast was just perfect to start the day! We were lucky to find this place and at such affordable price, since other hotels charge you more for having a bathroom. Next time will definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar1sabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

This was the worst accommodation in our 26-day tour of New Zealand. Principal problems were its design and housekeeping standard. While our suite included a second bedroom, the living area was cramped for three of us. The large glass sliding entry door provided no privacy without the curtain closed and there was a frequent sound of rushing water in the waste water downpipe from the first floor that ran past our bedroom window. The overall internal finish of the rooms was just average. With no air conditioning or free flow of air without opening the sliding door, sleep was difficult during the warm summer's night. The amiable proprietor said he was trying to "break in" the cleaning staff. He had a way to go. They failed to note the crust of old milk that had leaked into a bowl in the refgrigerator and while there were no other significant signs of dirt, the beds did not look freshly made up. We were fortunate to get the booking during the peak summer holiday season but we were glad we only had to stay one night.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bszj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#13 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Number 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Number 6

Property: Albert Number 6
Address: 6 Albert St, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Number 6 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Albert Number 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing