We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really sweat, great location ”
Review of Albert Number 6

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albert Number 6
Ranked #7 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

It's so close to the beach and the different activities offered their. It's also close to a grocery store ( rooms have their own small kitchen area) and to several places to eat and shop. It's super clean and pretty spacious. There is so much to see and do that this is the perfect place to come and sleep and then move on! We loved it!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank tarajabbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed one night recently with last minute booking. Had one bedroom unit on floor level (2 levels), rooms and linen clean and adequate, tv, fridge, microwave, kettle in lounge. Provided continental breakfast in price which was good. Good pressure in shower, ranchsliders stack to open giving larger door opening.

Hosts very accommodating with my check in arrangements as I was checking in very late. Host, "biker" friendly given the noise my bike made upon leaving the next morning at 8.30am. I would stay again.

Loved the 25 steps to the beachfront! Café and diary opposite motel. Main town centre also within close walking distance, possibly 50 steps!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1hdsoftail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The in room blurb talks of this property providing the basics and it does that well. Clean, heaps of hot water and acceptable rooms. The rooms are small and offer no privacy at all. The location is fabulous - just a few steps to the beach in one direction and to town in the other.

With a bit of TLC the property could be so much better. Tidying up the parking area would be a good start and then a general spruce up would do wonders.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed 2N in an upper room with a peak of the beach which was a bonus. Comfortable bed and very peaceful room back from the road. Clean unit with new towels given despite us hanging them up to save the environment. Good shower pressure in bathroom but nowhere to put soap or shampoo. Glasses, mugs and teaspoons provided along with Microwave but no other plates or utensils. Would have liked to wash our breakfast dishes but no d/w liquid and as previous reviewer said, bathroom basin not acceptable/hyienic for such a purpose. Free Wifi available but at tables by the office. Lovely staff who were friendly and welcoming. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Fridge was louder than a V8 After putting bunk mattresses onto the bed it was a bit better.Great to have a tea towel but to wash dishes in the bathroom is not good (only tap or sink available)No sky no issue but tv 1- 2 and nearly 3 is poor. Better to have no tv.Very very basic at a not basic price.Stayed in much better for less.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olddog13Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This motel advertises free wifi in all rooms. The first thing was That to guarantee Wi-Fi reception I had to have the more expensive room near the office. This was the only room that they reckoned the Wi-Fi would work. then I was given a $2 voucher which enabled 5 min of Skype time only. I was given another 2 $5 vouchers, that the service was intermittent as well so I gave up.
As having Wi-Fi access was the reason I booked this hotel, I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here last minute after driving around - this hotel stood out in the street (after dark) with lighting, looking clean and welcoming. The owner Richard was friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and well supplied. It was very quiet and just a stone's throw from the beach so no noise from the late nighters on the main drag. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, we stayed in a queen unit which would have slept another person if required. I noticed they had double room units and a backpack type accommodation as well. If you are looking for a nice place to eat, we would recommend Blonde (just across and down from the ferry) - excellent food and staff - we had dinner one night - you can have either chef cooked meal (the chef is called Paul - very impressed) and returned to sample the lunch menu the next day. It was the best meals we ate in our trip to NZ

Room Tip: No pool (close to the beach) or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbeck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 25 in Whitianga
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Number 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Number 6

Address: 6 Albert St, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £64 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Number 6 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albert Number 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing