We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtlecove Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Baileys at the Beach Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$134
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
54
34
13
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
34
13
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle covefree breakfastthe kitchenshared bathroommain buildingoutside areaone nightwater pressuredouble bedwould stay here againstayed here for two nightscathedral covelovely placecoromandel peninsulahostelsupermarketmattresses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hostel is amazing!
On my arrival I was lovely welcomed by an amazing hostel manager ;) She was pretty nice and could remember my name on the next day!

The hostel is clean and the kitchen is awesome. Everything what you need is available. The most amazing things are the beds. I have never had such a great matress and I nearly overslept the check-out time ;)
Low-budget accomodation with good continental breakfast!

Lovely stay.. unfortunately just for one night :/

The hostel is in the paradies of Whitianga. Everything is reachable by feet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope the rest of your journey goes well.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a detached dbl room. It was clean and warm. The Manager was helpful and informative. Basic breakfast included. Good water pressure in showers and aanderin tree. Would recommend staying here, good backpacker accom at reasonable price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AppleTintedShades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The cabins are quite comfortable and are nice for a bit of privacy so we are please you enjoyed staying in one of them. Hopefully you will get back up to our beautiful Whitianga again.
Kindest Regards
Turtlecove Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, we arrived around 3:30 pm and waited around 15 minutes outside the hostel until the manager appeared and told us she could not hear the bell from the back. At first we liked the hostel, mostly because it was partially empty. You have a basic breakfast included which is nice (toasts, cornflakes, butter, etc.). The second night it got a little more crowded , the outside bathroom (there were 2 but one of them was out of service) was a mess, a real mess, of course this is because of guests fault, because they clean every day, but is incredible how dirty some people is. We switched rooms for the 3rd night and that day the hostel was crowded, and when it is there are not enough bathrooms, sadly we had to wait a lot to have a shower so had breakfast and then the shower, we did the checkout around 10:15 because of that, as every shower was in use. The manager was outside pointing at her wrist with her index finger, IT WAS NOT OUR FAULT if you dont have enough bathrooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeoAngelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi
We are sorry that your stay was marred by having to wait to check-in and for showers. I have spoken to the staff member concerned about your wait . We have 10 showers here and 4 that you could have accessed any time so the highest ratio for your stay was 3 people per shower so we are sorry if you did not know about the other shower options. Check out time is 10am and the staff member (Not the manager) was merely giving you a heads up on the time as we have only 2 hours to get all beds and cleaning completed before the next guests arrive and yours was the last bed waiting to be stripped my apologies if this offended you. We hope that you were comfortable in your cabin and that you enjoyed Whitianga
Regards Jean (MANAGER)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at Turtle Cove for three nights as there was plenty to do and see around the area, particularly if (a) you like beaches and (b) you have a car or are good at hitching lifts with locals or fellow travellers. The hostel staff are very welcoming and down to earth, Maria is pretty much just one of the gang, which creates much more of a family feel rather than the 'them and us' mentality you get at some hostels.

The rooms were clean and spacious and the toilet and shower facilities were always spotless during my stay. The kitchen is well equipped and well organised and the long island layout often generates some good chat when people sit on the other side. The benches outside often group travellers together which is good for conversation and I found the hospital looking tables and chairs in the main room quite amusing. There is a large DVD and an even larger VCR collection on offer so if you can remember how to use a VCR, feel free to give it a try one night for a little trip down memory lane.

There is plenty of information on offer at the hostel and the guys can book things for you should you need them to. WiFi, as is usual in New Zealand, will cost you around $3.50 for an hour or $6.50 for 24 hours I believe...similar prices can be found at the iSite around the corner. The hostel location is pretty ideal, with the main road one side and the big supermarket on the other.

Should you wish, you can take the bikes (for free) and ride down to Hahei and Hot Water Beach after crossing on the ferry ($7 return with the bikes). This is actually well worth it as a cheap and easy going day trip, just make sure the bikes are in working order, especially the red one, which barely made it back. There are not many hills to contend with, the worst being the one from Hahei to Cathedral Cove car park (just walk it) and the other being when leaving Hahei heading for Whitianga or Hot Water Beach.

All in all, its a great place to stay in town and it is also the Naked Bus accommodation and as such, a little cheaper to book via them. The bus (shuttle) drops you off and picks you up right outside. The location is much more convenient than 'On The Beach' Hostel so unless you just want to be across the road from the beach, pick Turtle Cove based on location. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

wow now that is how you write a review!! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in NZ and I will ensure that all staff get to read your review
Thank you
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

It is the first time I have stayed in a dorm room at a backpackers and it had an en-suite bathroom!!! That just made it for me :-)
It had a lovely outside area and rather close to the supermarket and pub.
Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass this on to our crew.
Kindest Regards
Turtlecove Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews