We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turtlecove Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This was a nice hostel. Free kiwi and mandarins for guests and also a free breakie. Bit disappointed that the wifi wasn't available and when I asked the owner said that he wasn't sure when it would be working and it had been out of operation for a while. Other than that it was great!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scotty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We are sorry about the wifi it got damaged in one of the storms and I am still waiting for the parts to get it fixed. Frustrating for both of us I 'm afraid but we are working on it .
Regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    31
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
22
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Turtlecove offers a great little hostel with lovely facilities. The kitchen and lounge, with a free breakfast and a wide range of movies, was fantastic. Also, the dorm was spacious and comfortable, and bathrooms were very clean (although there are very few toilet/showers for number of potential guests). We had a great stay here however our experience was dampened on our last day when we were rudely and abruptly kicked out due to a ridiculous policy which means check out equals get out. I have worked in hospitality in France, Finland and New Zealand and in these hotels and hostels we would always allow guests to stay and use the premises' facilities until they depart for their next location. However this is not the case here, being told because we have checked out at 10am we cannot be in the hostel. Once I understood that was the case I agreed to leave and apologised. However the manager continued to argue and shout at me telling me I was rude and 'naughty' making the situation alot worse than I was. This meant that we were on the street with our bags until our coach departed at 5.30pm in the middle of winter. Thanks Turtlecove for a great stay and frostbite!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed our hostel and facilities and we are sorry that you were upset with staff but perhaps we should share the whole story!
You and your friend arrived early and stayed one night. In the morning you returned your room keys and drove away. Check out is 10 am and returning your room keys means you are leaving. If you are not leaving then you can A: pay for another night, B: pay for a late checkout or C: make OTHER ARRANGEMENTS with management. You Do Not come back nearly 3 hrs later without telling anyone and use showers and other facilities (which were already cleaned ready for our next guests). The staff member had every right to be upset at suddenly finding people in our hostel, using the facilities without our knowledge.
At no time did you tell us you were leaving on a bus at 5.30 pm and as you arrived, and left by car, how would we know this? Had you discussed this with us then arrangements for you to use the kitchen, and even an outside shower, would have been made, but this is a courtesy not a right!
A large hostel would probably not notice you returning later in the day to use their facilities but it is still wrong unless you have made arrangements with them.
As for being left on the street and the frostbite (in sunny Whitianga in the afternoon, with the pubs and shops open) Really!!!
Regards
Jean
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Not far from the center, clean, rooms pretty nice and comfortable. Lots of DVD, small hostel so everybody is talking with each other.
Really nice to stay if you want to explore the coromandel peninsula and cathedral cove ( but its not in whitianga, its in hahei ).
Staff nice

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Thibaud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope the rest of your trip went well.
Best Regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hostel was amazing. It had a great cozy and homey feeling to it. The owners are really nice understanding people and the location was perfect, close to a lot of things so you can just walk. We did get some food stolen but at no fault to the hostel, honestly it was one of the best hostels I've been in, in the North Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkrizz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Guys
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and so sorry that some of your food went missing, it is something that really upsets us when people do not respect another persons things and even after this happened you still gave us a wonderful review so we are very appreciative. All the best.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I do love this hostel. It's clean, quiet, people there are friendly. A little bit far away from the beach. Maybe 20min walk. But close supermarket. Especially it is cheap. I booked it via nakedsleep, it cost only $15 per night. Spend my last week in whitianga with this host, quite worthy. If only the weather go better.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina999990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we also enjoyed having you here, maybe one day you will get back this way. We hope the rest of your journey went well.
Kindest Regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunzenhausen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hostel is amazing!
On my arrival I was lovely welcomed by an amazing hostel manager ;) She was pretty nice and could remember my name on the next day!

The hostel is clean and the kitchen is awesome. Everything what you need is available. The most amazing things are the beds. I have never had such a great matress and I nearly overslept the check-out time ;)
Low-budget accomodation with good continental breakfast!

Lovely stay.. unfortunately just for one night :/

The hostel is in the paradies of Whitianga. Everything is reachable by feet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope the rest of your journey goes well.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a detached dbl room. It was clean and warm. The Manager was helpful and informative. Basic breakfast included. Good water pressure in showers and aanderin tree. Would recommend staying here, good backpacker accom at reasonable price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AppleTintedShades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turtlecove A, Manager at Turtlecove Accommodation, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The cabins are quite comfortable and are nice for a bit of privacy so we are please you enjoyed staying in one of them. Hopefully you will get back up to our beautiful Whitianga again.
Kindest Regards
Turtlecove Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers
On the Beach Backpackers
#7 of 23 in Whitianga
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#5 of 23 in Whitianga
120 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
423 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtlecove Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtlecove Accommodation

Property: Turtlecove Accommodation
Address: 14 Bryce Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtlecove Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning to visit Mercury Bay and require an affordable and comfortable place to stay, in a great location, then Turtle Cove could be just the place for you. Hotel quality mattresses and all bed linen supplied. A variety of sleeping arrangements from shared dorms, doubles, twins, double en-suite, and dorm en-suites. Free light self serve breakfast available in kitchen from 7am to 10am. Situated in Bryce Street between the Supermarket and main road. Walking distance to shops, cafes, and beaches. 30min by vehicle to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Tours available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtlecove Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing