We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the area”
Review of Cave Cruzer

Cave Cruzer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cave Cruzer Adventure Tours is the original Whitianga Marine Adventure Tour. Our ex naval rescue vessel gives you 360 degree unimpeded views and will take you to places that other boats cannot. You will learn local history of interest and visit caves, blowholes and the Marine Reserve where you will see an abundant amount of sea life. We take you to the world famous Cathedral Cove, the beautiful set used for part of the Prince Caspian/Narnia movies. Terry, our boat skipper will enchant you with tales as he shows you Shakespeares Cliff, Cooks Blowhole, Champagne Rock and the Orua Sea Cave (NZ's 2nd biggest sea cave), to name a few. NZ fur seals can be seen frolicking in the crystal clear waters from time to time and if you are really lucky, we have a NZ Department of Conservation licence to view all Marine life in the area. Safety is paramount and we as a company are committed to providing you with the best experience in the 'Bay' on the day. We provide all customers with access to their full tour of photos (1 photo taken every 10 seconds) in video form plus any images captured via our Facebook Page at the end of the day and encourage you to share your pictures with our followers. Lastly, this area is a photographers dream!
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great way to see the area”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Had a fantastic morning out with Steve cruising the attractions. It is a comfortable boat and Steve really knows the area. Very relaxed and lots and lots of fun for a great price. Would thoroughly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovingVanuatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Day Out”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Perfect spring day out on the water.
Steve is an informative and interesting host with a wealth of local knowledge and some rather amusing stories to share.
the trip was amazingly fun and enjoyable made even better by the fact the water was as still as a mirror.
thanks Cave cruzer.
Well done!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ride, awesome tour”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My friend and I had a great tour in the boat all to ourselves. It's a small size boat but that means Steve can take you into caves and blowholes with ease. We saw a seal and hot tons of great photo opportunities. Steve is a great guy and guide, he knows a lot about the area and has a great sense of humor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier. New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Thing Ever”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Wow...what a great trip and Steve was fantastic. This is a must to do when in Whitianga, it was one of the highlights. The boat is a real racer especially of the weather is a bit rough..would do it again tomorrow. Good to see the marine reserve is doing the job well...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 76Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My friend and I had a fantastic 2 1/2 hours out on the water with the skipper. We had the whole boat to ourselves!
The tour was informative, fun and relaxed. We were navigated into some amazing caves and blow holes. I particularly enjoyed being allowed to snorkel and then being able to wrap up warm in the all weather coats provided!
A great Trip. Thanks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cave Cruzer also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cave Cruzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing