We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grumpy pony tail does service wrong but food is excellent”
Review of Mercury Bay Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mercury Bay Club
Ranked #35 of 57 Restaurants in Whitianga
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: European, Healthy, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Description: Club Bistro and RestaurantWe are open for dinners Monday – Sunday from 17.00 to 20.30Open lunches Monday – Saturday 12 noon to 14.00Friday Smorgasbord from 17.30 to 20.30.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Grumpy pony tail does service wrong but food is excellent”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Saturday night, rugby, off to the Mercury Club. After having to complete the sacred chant, be growled at by pony tail for not signing in properly, and fawning our way into the club we found it to be like every other club that we have attended.

The non-pony tail staff were friendly and helpful, food and drink prices very reasonable and the food was good honest kiwi tucker.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cheerful, friendly place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed a couple of nights relaxing at the Club. Great menu and excellent meals very reasonably priced. Friendly staff made us feel very welcome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Treth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Having eaten here many times over past years, souse and self were unimpressed this time. Steak was untrimmed with meals overall not meeting our favour. This was likely our final visit.
We did wonder why the Club was not abuzz with diners at 6.30pm on a Friday as many such establishments have 'Specials' available from 5pm to 7pm using limited portions on smaller platters. We know the catering here has had its ups and downs so it would be good to know the present set-up becomes successful.
We appreciated the help of the barlady in our signing-in under the newish licencing requirement where a visitor cannot sign-in another visitor. As a Cossie Club member I am a visitor to another club but cannot also sign-in my spouse. Maddening for a traveling couple.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a great little club...”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stumbled upon this great little club during our honeymoon on a cold wet night and were so warmly welcomed...the staff are very friendly & happy to have a chat and the drink prices are great! We were very happy we made the decision to eat at the club as we enjoyed a delicious prawn entree and salmon main...we found out afterwards that a new head chef had just taken over and spoke with her after our meal to let her know how fabulous it had been! Give this place a go & you won't be disappointed! :O)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srobbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly & Welcoming”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Visited on a cold and miserable night. The bartender was welcoming and friendly. We chatted to the locals and stayed for one or two drinks. Great club prices on drinks and food. Very large facility with lots of scheduled entertainment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercury Bay Club also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mercury Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing