We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Marlin Apartments
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We arrived before the check-in and the host greeted us and let us in our room (2nd floor studio).

The location was perfect - right near the beach and the central business street. We were able to walk to the Lost Spring. It had a great beach house feel. We were there during winter and it was chilly. The room only had a small plug-in space heater. Bathroom was also very tiny with shower only. There was no clothes closet. I would not want to stay more than two nights in the studio unless using it in combo with adjacent 1 bedroom.

The host was exceptionally accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Thirteenth Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Blue Water Holiday apartments during our 3week holiday touring both the South and North Islands. We have stayed in a number of Motels and apartments and were disappointed in this one. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but, the 50" television was much too big in a fairly small room. The decor and furniture were very old and tired. There was no separate basin for washing up(you have to use the bathroom) This was not what we think of as an apartment as advertised. When I asked about the laundry facilities I was told there was a washing machine which could be used but would cost $5 a load. This was about twice what we have paid elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you for your response with regard to the room you stayed in. We havee taken your comments on board and this room now has a kitchenette with basin, fridge and microwave. We have also recarpeted so the room is looking wonderful. We appreciate constructive critisism and have acted on your main concerns. It still has a 52" TV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed in the newest addition to Blue Water Apartments - the king bed unit in front of property - and we were thrilled with it. Its literally a stones throw away from the sea, which just opens up like a picture in front of this property, we could see and hear the sea from our room. Spent every morning sitting on deck (& when it had rained during the night, our very friendly hostess had already been out and wiped down table and chairs for us!)
The room was very homely, comfy and clean...best shower we had whole time in N.Z! The hostess was fantastic. Just can't fault this place. We will always stay there from now on, its the perfect spot to explore rest of Coromandel, handy to so many great spots, the town and lots of dining options just a minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great location with views on to the beach. Easy walking distance to town (5mins). Free wifi with access from room. Good cooking facilities. Friendly host, happy to chat and offer advice. Ideal for families as plenty of room. Quiet room, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank untermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colonia4711_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSB_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Apartments

Address: 4 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand (Formerly Blue Water Holiday Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Marlin Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marlin Apartments is situated on Buffalo Beach Road. We have one and two bedroom apartments and studio rooms.Apartments one and two have beautiful unobstructed sea views.Apartments 7, 9 and 13 have some sea views.All one and two bedroom apartments are self contained with kitchens and en-suites.We are a five minute stroll to the shops on Albert Street and the Wharf and restaurants are just down the road. We will service your room daily and change your bathroom linen if required.Free WiFi is available with unlimited use. Park your car and enjoy walks on the beach which is directly across the road or wander in to town to one of the many restaurants or cafes on offer. Sit on the deck and read a book or The Lost Spring Day Spa if just behind us if you want to enjoy some pampering. The choice is yours.We welcome you to our lovely piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Marlin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing