We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting view across the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Marlin Apartments
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Four of us stayed one night in a 1 bedroom apartment and a connected 1 bedroom unit. Both were on the upper floor of a building at the back of the lot, which is across the road from the beach. There is an interesting view across the bay, but it is partially blocked by houses that are closer to the road. (We didn’t see any motels or apartments with an unobstructed patio view over the bay.) The units were modern, comfortable, well furnished, and reasonably well equipped, with crockery and cutlery for four in the apartment. The living room, dining and kitchen area were quite large, and each unit had a good sized patio. There is no dishwasher or dryer, which we expected in an apartment of this quality, although there is space for each. Tea and coffee was provided, but not decaf coffee. There was no soap in the wash basins, and there were no facial tissues. WiFi is free, but signal strength Is very low (an iPad didn’t see the WiFi signal, but was able to login to WiFi from a nearby property). There were no heaters, which could be an issue in colder weather, and no air conditioning (but with French doors onto the patios, you may not need it). We enjoyed our stay. There were a few details that need attention, but the clean, modern, spacious units and location near the beach made Blue Water Apartments a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your extensive review. I was pleased to receive your comments with recomendations for various improvements, I have certainly taken note of these. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the Coromandel in general.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

A big thankyou to our host Viv. We arrived on our roadbike (long overdue weekend away without the kiddies) & we were able to park our bike in her garage which was very much appreciated. Our studio apartment was perfect for the night & Viv was very accomodating. Clean, warm & relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blue Water Apartments. Definately hope to stay again:).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyBaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your review after staying with us. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to you returning for another break away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My wife and I stayed on March 15. We were very impressed with our friendly host and beautifully appointed suite. We were wonderfully cool for sleeping with a nice breeze from the ocean. We were thoroughly satisfied and would recommend blue water apartments to anyone. No suggestions for improvement. We enjoyed a nice stroll along the beach and a morning window-shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased I was able to make your stay at Whitianga a memorable one. We are only a small motel but we endeavour to give our guests the best service we possibly can. Maybe we will see you again visiting the lovely Coromandel Peninsula. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We found Blue Water by chance and could not believe our luck. It was about 10 meters from the sea, close to restaurants and supermarket and owned by a lovely lady, Vivienne. The welcome was warm, and we were encouraged to use the decking area in the front garden where we sat and watched the sun go down. The accommodation was large and well appointed and great value for money. if only we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bboyd254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have had wonderful summer weather this year and everyone has made the most of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We were looking for a base to discover the wonderful coromandel and couldn't have found a better place. It was only a short hop to Cathedral cove and hot water beach or the wonderful beaches to the north. The owner was warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, comfortable and had everything we needed, the facilities were modern and clean. The rooms had a great view over the glorious bay and it was an easy hop over the road to go for a swim. The hotel is also a short walk into the centre of town. We were only travelling through but would like to have stayed longer.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Highly recommend this motel to everyone! Best location-water front, walk distance to town center and wharf. Best facility-Huge screen TV, moden shower room. Best service-friendly host. Best duvet and comfortable beds! Best price- a 2 bedroom unit is only $240 per night for 4 adults and 1 child! We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BorClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We arrived before the check-in and the host greeted us and let us in our room (2nd floor studio).

The location was perfect - right near the beach and the central business street. We were able to walk to the Lost Spring. It had a great beach house feel. We were there during winter and it was chilly. The room only had a small plug-in space heater. Bathroom was also very tiny with shower only. There was no clothes closet. I would not want to stay more than two nights in the studio unless using it in combo with adjacent 1 bedroom.

The host was exceptionally accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Thirteenth Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Apartments

Address: 4 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand (Formerly Blue Water Holiday Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: £75 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Marlin Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marlin Apartments is situated on Buffalo Beach Road. We have one and two bedroom apartments and studio rooms.Apartments one and two have beautiful unobstructed sea views.Apartments 7, 9 and 13 have some sea views.All one and two bedroom apartments are self contained with kitchens and en-suites.We are a five minute stroll to the shops on Albert Street and the Wharf and restaurants are just down the road. We will service your room daily and change your bathroom linen if required.Free WiFi is available with unlimited use. Park your car and enjoy walks on the beach which is directly across the road or wander in to town to one of the many restaurants or cafes on offer. Sit on the deck and read a book or The Lost Spring Day Spa if just behind us if you want to enjoy some pampering. The choice is yours.We welcome you to our lovely piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Marlin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing