We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from Home in the countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
King sized bed in separate bedroom looking towards garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King sized bed in separate bedroom looking towards garden
Living and kitchen area View from deck to Coromandel Range
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
King sized bed in separate bedroom looking towards garden
Living and kitchen area
View from deck to Coromandel Range
Cathedral cove 20 minutes drive
Hahei Beach 20 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jane4011
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Home away from Home in the countryside”
Reviewed 21 March 2012 for a stay in January 2012

This lovely homestay was just what the doctor ordered! Rest and respite from the crazy world we inhabit.

The cottage was just perfect. What you see on the internet is exactly what you get beautifully appointed accommodation surrounded by stunningly pretty farmland and mountain vistas.

What you don't see on the net, is of course, your hosts. Anne and David are a delightful couple who are warm and welcoming. We spent several evenings during our week long stay enjoying each others company over a good glass of red. You can choose to have as much to do with them as you like or as little.

This homestay is a must when visiting The Coromandel Coast, New Zealand. So, don't miss it. And whilst there, don't miss the gorgeous little markets held down the road at the Gum Town Hall.

This homestay deserves your patronage because it has all the right ingredients, as they say, for a fantastic holiday!

Date of stay: January 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was wonderful
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUckland
Reviewed 12 March 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Date of stay: January 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland
Reviewed 12 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Date of stay: February 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland
Reviewed 11 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Date of stay: February 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LeonieIsa...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We absolutely loved our 4 nights at the Orchard Homestay.”
Reviewed 4 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

It is a quiet peaceful spot surrounded by farmland and yet close to lots of beaches and beautiful native bush. The best 'getaway' spot ever.

The homestay itself is luxurious and tasteful, with quality linen and furnishings. Everything is supplied (other than food for lunch and dinner) that you could possibly need for self-catering. The breakfast ingredients were positively yummy.

Anne and David were very helpful with a broad knowledge of the area, yet unobtrusive and respectful of our privacy. We wholeheartedly recommend the Orchard Homestay as the perfect retreat. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: February 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous bed
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Mar 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We really appreciate it and we loved having you both. Come again when you need another relaxing holiday. Regards Anne and David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldCoast...
Gold Coast
1 review
“Another gem in 'them thar hills'”
Reviewed 20 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

A perfect escape to the country. Accomodations were modern and clean well equiped to be self contained foodwise in a lovely setting. The hosts were delightful, once settled they left us to explore the area and gave us sugestions as where to go and what to do. My favourite was the horse riding on the farm over the road and early evening walks.
For a tranquil quiet getaway within easy reach of beachs and Whitianga its a winner.

Date of stay: November 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Presentation
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paramount...
Dortmund, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.