We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base to explore the Coromandel Peninsula”
other travellers have booked this property
King sized bed in separate bedroom looking towards garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King sized bed in separate bedroom looking towards garden
Living and kitchen area View from deck to Coromandel Range
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
King sized bed in separate bedroom looking towards garden
Living and kitchen area
View from deck to Coromandel Range
Cathedral cove 20 minutes drive
Hahei Beach 20 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jennifer...
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore the Coromandel Peninsula”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Orchard Cottage is an elegant retreat with huge windows overlooking a beautiful rural vista where attention to detail is second to none (you'll even find a beach spade to dig yourself into the sand at Hot Water Beach). We were welcomed with a fruit platter, a bowl of garden flowers and a fridge full of top quality breakfast goodies. Though you'll travel slightly further to visit all the Coromandel Peninsula has to offer, the quality of this cottage in a beautiful setting more than offsets a few extra kilometres. The hosts, Anne and David, are charming and professional. This place is a hidden gem!

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage in beautiful rural setting
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james m
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Together with my wife and two young kids we had the pleasure to stay here in mid February 2015. After arriving in the dark on a Friday night we settled in. In the morning we woke and pulled back the curtains to reveal the most glorious rolling country views. The apartment was extremely well appointed with all the mod cons you could expect and wonderfully clean. The kids had a fantastic time exploring the farm itself and with day trips to Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach only a short drive it made for some exciting & relaxing times. Beautiful sunsets to be enjoyed from the Cottage deck. Would highly recommend and would definitely come and stay again.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coalpoint...
newcastlensw
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in February 2013

My wife and I with our daughter (in her 20's) stayed here Feb 13 (over a year ago - just catching up on stuff I should have done long ago!). Stay was 3 nights and it was fabulous in all dimensions. The cottage itself is fantastic and the setting is just beautiful, and very private despite being adjacent to the main house. And our hosts Anne and David could not have been more welcoming (and managed that without being in the least intrusive). This was the best of 5 places we stayed at for 3 or 4 nights each and we hope to be back some day.

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_n_Kr...
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb, far exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed here for 5-nights Jan 2014 whilst on holiday from the UK - it was the first accommodation that we had used on our holiday (having driven from Auckland airport - approx. 2 hours) and it got our holiday off to a great start. The remaining properties have a lot to live up to!

Difficult to add anything really meaningful to the glowing reviews of others. Suffice it to say that the house is beautifully appointed, well equipped and has superb views. Anne and David were great hosts in the main house next door but only seen when needed, so you are not overlooked at all. Lovely breakfast provisions upon arrival e.g. bread, butter, eggs, bacon, honey, orange juice, yoghurts, home made marmalade etc - all 'topped up' as and when needed. My wife has significant walking difficulties (but not a wheelchair user) and the house presented no difficulties - the entrance is directly from the car port,then just one step in. Then flat surface throughout, level decking, just one step down from the decking to the gardens.

As said, approx. 2-hours drive from Auckland which was fine as we had an overnight break en route but if flying long distances (e.g. from Europe) maybe consider stopping overnight somewhere first. Depends on driver etc. Good roads all the way, fairly straight for the first hour or so, then the second half is undulating and 'twisty' in parts - great driving roads. The house is just a few hundred yards off the main road with just the last short stretch on a good gravel road.

Information pack in the house (much appreciated) giving ideas for shopping, eating, beaches etc. Good supermarket (New World) about 20-mins away in the town of Whitianga.

In short, don't hesitate - the Coromandel is beautiful, far more scenic than we expected (even for NZ). Topped off by a superb house and hosts! Our biggest mistake was only staying for 5-nights!

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, views and hosts
Liked least: Leaving was hard!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique...
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room with a view...to paradise”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is simply wonderful. It is a good size appartment with large windows instead of walls. You are surronded by a lovely garden and orange trees. The bed is very comfortable and wide. After sleeping like a lord, you wake up to the sound of beautiful birds.
Everything in the design and decoration of this place is well thought and well placed. It is a place of calm and peacefulness. If you like landscapes and animals, there are horses, sheep, huge trees and nice landscapes. The owners also have a kiwi plantation which is very interesting to see.
One of the best places we stayed in new zealand

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general peacefulness
Liked least: It was not possible to pay by credit card
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AORTICA
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Idyllically-located piece of earth!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Heading to Coroglen by night and to The Orchard Homestay, we can only guess at the beauty of this idyllically-located piece of earth. In the midst of nature with a flock of sheep in front of the veranda and surrounded by a citrus orchard with views of the Coromandel Ranges, this modern, self-contained cottage is the perfect retreat for relaxing and making trips to the sea. Our lovely hosts Anne and David treat us to a chicken curry when we arrive ... more infos on our trip through New Zealand? — get our AORTICA Magazine, N°02.

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant place, brilliant people”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week with Anne and David and they were so welcoming and helpful. Their attention to detail and local knowledge made our stay unforgettable. The homestay is modern and spotless, with a really comfortable bed. The location is perfect for exploring some of the highlights of the Coromadel. If you enjoy waking up in the peace of the countryside with stunning views from the deck then this is the place for you.

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace of the countryside
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.