We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay in a day, or half”

Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boat tour cruise of Cathedral Cove, Cooks Beach, Hahei, marine reserve, caves and beaches. includes swimming and snorkelling if conditions suit
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Fun informative tour of caves, baya as well as a chance to amoroso. Well priced and super friendly captain. Cant go past it for an introduction to this beautiful part of the world

Thank TATAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

very happy that you enjoyed our trip thanks for posting the review. Keep an eye on our face book page for be pictures and info

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 253 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were on holiday in New Zealand last December and we went on this tour with Ken (who is owner skipper) and I have to say what an excellent experience it was. The ride into or very close to all the attractions were incredible and Ken narrates each scene very well peppered in with jokes too. The underwater camera is a unique feature which was great because it prevents you feeling seasick (compared to when looking down a glass bottomed boat) and best of all, the camera goes right to the sea bottom and you truly get a "fish's eye view"!

Let but not least, my wife and I went with out son who is a 23 yr old wheelchair user. Ken and his wife had no problems helping us get our son onto the boat (yes, our son can walk a bit but not stable!).

Highly recommended this one if you visit the area!

Thank JamalMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Very humbled by your kind words thanks for choosing us I hope you are back this way and we can show you more of our fabulous country

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A wonderful afternoon with a great host to show us the sights with informed commentary. We had the boat to ourselves which was an added bonus. We had a number of possible companies to choose from but arer really glad we took the recommendation of our motel hosts.

Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Yes the coast here is awesome we never get tired of it. It is different every trip from the simply stunning sunny still days to the wild white water

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Lovely couple running this. Hard to choose as several companies providing similar style trip but glad we chose this over the glass bottom boat as it had TV screen to see fish and as it was choppy water wasn't clear enough to see any so Ken put on a video he'd prepared earlier! A tip is , if you have time to obviously choose a day when its calm to maker the most of the clear water and opportunity to snorkel. Probably better to go earlier in day.

Thank trigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Yes the underwater camera is a great point of difference and we will be developing that much more over the off season
Thanks again

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had the boat to ourselves which was an added bonus. The man who took us was really nice, very knowledgeable about the area we covered on our trip. Lovely views of Cathedral Cove and the surrounding area. A really enjoyable afternoon, well worth the money

Thank HermajestyStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Cheers thanks for the neat comments we had an awesome time with you
Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing