We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great day with Ken”

Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boat tour cruise of Cathedral Cove, Cooks Beach, Hahei, marine reserve, caves and beaches. includes swimming and snorkelling if conditions suit
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We're from NZ, but had never been to Cathedral Cove before. We took two close family members who are from Melbourne. We had the most wonderful day, scenery and experience. Ken was up close and personal, putting us at ease and filling us up with a wealth of his knowledge and information about this most beautiful place. An unforgettable and enriching experience. Our country still has some unspoilt gems. Thanks to Ken and Leslie. I will certainly recommend this tour as a 'must do' to friends and family

Thank Olives57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review I love the coast here and sharing it with travellers from all over the world is great fun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"underwater camera"
in 13 reviews
"captain ken"
in 11 reviews
"cathedral cove"
in 84 reviews
"coast guard"
in 8 reviews
"fish"
in 54 reviews
"rough seas"
in 4 reviews
"excellent cruise"
in 5 reviews
"excellent value for money"
in 7 reviews
"superb trip"
in 4 reviews
"boat ride"
in 10 reviews
"without hesitation"
in 4 reviews
"rock formations"
in 11 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 10 reviews
"clear water"
in 5 reviews
"sea caves"
in 12 reviews
"marine reserve"
in 15 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 4 reviews
Filter

259 - 263 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Four of us enjoyed a terrific day out. Although there were 5 other adults (and two small children) on the trip and it is not a big boat, it did not feel crowded. We were surprised that whilst it was very calm in Whitianga that morning once we rounded a few bays it did get quite choppy. The 4 in the bow got a bit wet! One of the reasons I chose this vessel over the others offering a similar experience (apart from the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor)was the fact that this was an ex Coastguard boat and at all times we felt very safe and in good hands. We were fortunate to get into Orua Sea Cave on what was quite a rough sea. A couple of the smaller boats did not but for us it was the highlight. Some of our party engaged in snorkelling whilst the rest of us watched a video of the local fish - the water being too stirred up for good visibility on the day. All in all, it was a wonderful and exhilirating trip and I would heartily recommend Cathedral Cove Cruises.

Thank sez5446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Yes we have had a few interesting sea conditions lately cyclone Lucy certainly kicked up,some good swell. Our boat is perfect for all conditions and we really appreciate your positive comments.

Safe travel


Regards

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

In Whitianga with a friend for just a short time but definitely felt like I made the most of two days thanks to Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises. Ken was knowledgeable, super friendly and genuinely went the extra mile to make sure all on board where having a great day out. Have been telling all my friends and family about the trip, will be back myself soon hopefully! Thanks again Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises.

Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thanks for the review we will be loading more video and pics on bot TA and FB soon

We really appreciate you taking the time to write

Regards

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Fun informative tour of caves, baya as well as a chance to amoroso. Well priced and super friendly captain. Cant go past it for an introduction to this beautiful part of the world

Thank TATAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

very happy that you enjoyed our trip thanks for posting the review. Keep an eye on our face book page for be pictures and info

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were on holiday in New Zealand last December and we went on this tour with Ken (who is owner skipper) and I have to say what an excellent experience it was. The ride into or very close to all the attractions were incredible and Ken narrates each scene very well peppered in with jokes too. The underwater camera is a unique feature which was great because it prevents you feeling seasick (compared to when looking down a glass bottomed boat) and best of all, the camera goes right to the sea bottom and you truly get a "fish's eye view"!

Let but not least, my wife and I went with out son who is a 23 yr old wheelchair user. Ken and his wife had no problems helping us get our son onto the boat (yes, our son can walk a bit but not stable!).

Highly recommended this one if you visit the area!

Thank JamalMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Very humbled by your kind words thanks for choosing us I hope you are back this way and we can show you more of our fabulous country

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing