We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable experience”

Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boat tour cruise of Cathedral Cove, Cooks Beach, Hahei, marine reserve, caves and beaches. includes swimming and snorkelling if conditions suit
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the condensed tour (1.5 hrs) on Anzac Day. Very comfortable trip on an ex coast guard vessel with knowledgeable guide, who obviously enjoys what he does. Loved Orua Cave and seeing snapper through reasonably clear water. Well worth our time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kereru1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Anzac was a great day was this the day we caught the plastic duck fishing. Not sure check out face book page funny event and a great fishing story
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“We had a great day with Ken too!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a fabulous tour with Ken (and his 'good lady'). Great day, a highlight of our recent trip to NZ. Ken was informative, friendly and very easy going. Would highly recommend his tour.
Love your office Ken! Thank you Ken & Leslie..see you again sometime.
cheers, Rosa & Colin from Melbourne

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosa Colin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Shhh dont tell on us the fish we fed that day were in Orua cave remember!!!. Certainly great day we have been blessed with awesome weather and fabulous visitors to our tour thanks for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Took the condensed tour that last 90 mins that starts at 8.30 am. Ken was fantastic and passionate about the area - we stopped by Shakespeare cliff, then Cathedral cove, "fertilized the seaweed" aka - feeding the fish - and then the highlight was the magical Orua cave.

The boat was very safe - my 7 year old enjoyed the trip and didn't feel sea sick at all. One of the highlights of our trip to Whitianga.

Highly Recommend taking in the sights with Ken.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for the review we have had a fantastic summer here lots to see. Had a funny event yesterday check out our face book later I will put the pic shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic start to a day”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Ken is a fantastic skipper. Has a great wealth of knowledge on the area and its geography. Was incredible swimming with the fish in the marine reserve. A must do with Ken if in town

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks it was a great day to travel since your trip weather has packed up so off the water for a few days all the best for your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“A Great day with Ken”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We're from NZ, but had never been to Cathedral Cove before. We took two close family members who are from Melbourne. We had the most wonderful day, scenery and experience. Ken was up close and personal, putting us at ease and filling us up with a wealth of his knowledge and information about this most beautiful place. An unforgettable and enriching experience. Our country still has some unspoilt gems. Thanks to Ken and Leslie. I will certainly recommend this tour as a 'must do' to friends and family

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olives57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review I love the coast here and sharing it with travellers from all over the world is great fun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing