We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, lovely wines and lovely greeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercury Bay Estate

Mercury Bay Estate
Ranked #7 of 29 things to do in Whitianga
Attraction details
Eerwah Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, lovely wines and lovely greeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Although we arrived rather late in the afternoon we were made to feel very welcomed, told to take our time and were treated very warmly by the friendly hostess. The setting is so beautiful and the wines offered for tasting were excellent. A perfect end to a day in this incredible region of New Zealand's North Island

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank EileenW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    13
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lighthouse Point, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stopped by this winery for lunch after visiting Hot Springs Beach. Terrific lineup of wine and a very tasty platter of food. The view of Mercury Bay was just lovely.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

lovely wine and fab view - great friendly service and great place even in mid winter

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jezza-milly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good place to stop to wet the tongue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

They do a couple of free wine tastes, then you pay and do more. Hospitalble staff and lovely dog. Good views. Also sell beers made by a British couple living nearby. Think I saw a For Sale sign up so would be a little gem if they can get listed in Lonely Planet. There's another very local wine & spirit tasting place nearby which is rustic and interesting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank busprowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely way to pass an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We shared a platter with one of the tasting boards with 4 different wine varieties to taste. We took our time and sat out at the lovely wooden tables taking in the lovely view down the vineyard to the fantastic bay. Top way to spend a little time just chatting and enjoying the tastes. (If I didn't have to drive I'd have been there a lot longer!!)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercury Bay Estate also viewed

 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mercury Bay Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing