We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning”
Review of Mercury Bay Estate

Mercury Bay Estate
Ranked #6 of 29 things to do in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous wines and lovely food platters but the winner here is the view from the estate which is simply breathtaking on a clear summers afternoon. Such a tranquil feel to the place - no where else I would rather have been. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for visiting and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    38
    13
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over sells it's self.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Went here the other day for lunch, the scenery is beautiful and is a really nice place to sit and eat.
However, of the 8 wines we tasted, they were all very middle of the road and nothing special, even though they were being sold as really high end wines.
All in all a good place to eat, but the wines aren't really up to it.
Wines $25-35 take away, realistically about $14-18 value.

Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for visiting our estate and it a pity we didn't discuss our wines at time as we appreciate constructive comments for people whom have knowledge of the industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great end to a great trip!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were coming to the end of 17 days in New Zealand and wanted to check out the Cooks Beach wines , booked in via Maui Camper vans for one night stay , first of all the site is amazingly beautiful, secondly John the owner is a really nice guy , the young French girl looking after us from Toulouse was efficient and so friendly and acommodating . The wine tasting was carried out as I would expect with good advice , not all wines were to our taste but the Cabernet Merlot Reserve 2008 was very nice and went down well with the cold platter .
Only poor point on this visit was the booking by Maui , they had not fed through all the information to John , but never the less as the host he is he made it alright on the night . In 7 years he has done a great job on this establishment , please go and try it out .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a spot!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Was in the area, hungry and thirsty. The place look good from the road, I can now tell you it was even better inside!

We ordered a selection of wines and a tasty platter to share. Service, ambiance and food fit for a king and queen.

Can't wait to go back, thank you for sharing you beautiful slice of paradise with us!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank simon_boogert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We chose this place for its great views overlooking their vineyard and the comfortable glassed in conservatory. All of us chose the cheeseboard which consisted of Gouda, Brie, Feta, Blue Vein and Cumin Seed Gouda. With it came slices of kiwi fruit, grapes, apricots, figs, dates. and fresh home baked white and brown bread. Only a few scraps were left. It was delicious and certainly worth the $25 platter for two.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank w0lves70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercury Bay Estate also viewed

 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mercury Bay Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing