We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platter perfect”
Review of Mercury Bay Estate

Mercury Bay Estate
Ranked #6 of 29 things to do in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Platter perfect”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were after a mellow afternoon after waking up at 6am to visit Cathedral Cove at sunrise, we were after a view, a platter and a great drop. Precisely what we got. Plus walked away with 2 stella drops that will most definitely be enjoyed.

Great view, sit on the deck and enjoy a perfect platter with a selection of wines.

We'll be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Romy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    38
    13
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson CIty, TN
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting with a View”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We visited the Mercury Bay Estate for lunch after kayaking at Cathedral Cove. The outdoor tables overlook the vineyard and Cooks Bay. What a lovely setting for tasting wine! We each selected our wines, and they were brought to the table in a wooden rack that kept them in order so we would know what varietal we were tasting. We ordered a Mediterranean and a mixed platter which were enough for four people to taste. Both were delicious! They even offered a dessert platter which we ended up getting as well-- also wonderful! This is a beautiful place to enjoy the wines of this region of New Zealand.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TNLady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to enjoy our wine food and views
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor Service & possible racism”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was with my friends visiting the Mercury Bay Estate, we walked in waiting for someone to serve us and this old lady standing at the counter rudely asked my friend if we are going get a table or not, sounded like we are blocking their way or something. Then after my friend had said yes, the lady just took a bottle of water and a number of menus and shoved it to my friend and told her to bring it to her table. When we actually got to our table, there was only 3 chairs and 3 menus for 5 of us.

We stood up waiting for someone to grab us 2 more chairs and this Chinese waitress speaking in fluent English came upstairs and said she will help us with the chairs and give us sometime to study the menu before coming to take our orders. After we've decided what we wanted to eat, we've waited for at least 15 mins for someone to come, the "apparent" owner of the vineyard helped with serving other tables but never bothered to check and see if our orders were taken, he just walked past us like we didn't exist.

After we waited for 20 mins but still no one coming to take our orders, my friend just got angry and suggested we should leave since they don't even care if we want to order or not. The rude old lady was retrieving some dirty dishes from another table and saw us walking out right in front of her, she frowned and stared at us with an unhappy look on her face.

I don't know if it is because we are a bunch of Chinese girls walking in so they treated us like this. At the time I did take a look around and most of the customers were English speakers. I mean, go there if you are Pakeha but if you're, be prepared to get treated like second class citizens.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank 721Jenny_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to visit our estate. I am upset you didn’t receive our normal high standard of service and experience our food and wines. I can assure you, you were not intentionally left unattended. International guests are in excess of 50% of our clients, and as you mention we employ a Chinese waitress. We would appreciate you taking the time to call again and ideally make a booking prior. We are now recommending bookings to all our clients to ensure we can seat them and continue providing great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wine and food with a view !”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

For those interested in New Zealand wine Mercury Bay Estate offers the opportunity to try excellent wines from the Coromandel. Although only Pinot Noir and Chardonnay grapes are grown on site (the latter in the neighbouring vinyard) there is a larger selection of wines for those interested in trying other varietals with the winemaking being undertaken by Mills Reef just a little further down the coast.
The presentation of the wines for tasting is very good and for those that want to make an occasion of the visit the platters represent good value for money. As others have said, the view of Mercury Bay beyond Cooks Beach certainly adds to the attraction of the venue.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Enophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for visiting to sample our food wine & views and taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just a glitch in service”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A lovely spot indeed!It is a restaurant really not an attraction as categorised here. We arrived at around 3pm only 3 other tables. By 3.45 the place was full... almost. Such a perfect day and a great view. The waiteress and one other got overwhelmed we were left waiting!!. The day was saved by the owner who was called in from mowing the vineyard. He was full of smiles, work boots on, and got our longer than expected wait sorted. Platter came...nice seafood selection and wines also arrived. All in All what started out badly ended well. Worth a visit if you are in the area and want a tasty platter and a pleasant wine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Yes that day was hectic, and thank you for your patience and we look forward to you calling again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercury Bay Estate also viewed

 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mercury Bay Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing