We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait, no food”

Buffalo Beach Takeaway
Ranked #22 of 57 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Takeout
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long wait, no food”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

- Staff seemed very disorganised, and despite having seemingly enough staff on, was not told of almost hour-long wait for food (which it turned out to be) even though it was not that busy.
- After 50 minutes were told that there was no squid, which was half of our order
- We then saw the staff go to the Four Square next door to purchase Pam's brand frozen chips.
- Almost all other customers (not that many either) were waiting just as long and did not seem happy either.
- We ended up getting a refund and getting food elsewhere.
- Unfortunately, not a great experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlee1746, General Manager at Buffalo Beach Takeaway, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Coming in for takeaways in Whitianga on one of the busiest days of the year (new years) you have to expect a long wait time. This was told to customers and we were taking phone numbers and calling them when orders were ready, so they could go home instead of waiting around. That is why you did not see many customers in the shop. Also take into consideration the phone orders that are rung in. It was very busy, you just did not see the amount of customers waiting around. All other customers were told of the wait time, and had the option to either wait around or we take their phone number and call them when their food is ready.
To have a 50 minute wait we go through a lot of orders in that time, we cannot predict and count how many squid rings are going to be left over for your order. We done our best and that is all we can do. We gave you a full refund with apologies and cannot do any more than that.
Staff went to Four Square to purchase wedges, not chips, as all wedges had sold out. Again, we cannot predict how much is needed over this busy time.
All money was refunded, sorry for wasting 50 minutes of your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Forget this place”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We got revved up for fish and chips for dinner. Walked into the shop at 6.30 .there were two young teenagers sweeping the floor and chatting . Eventually " No fresh fish and two frozen choices, it's on the blackboard" Very casual and completely disinterested. We went elsewhere a bit disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good Feed”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

good service, food well done, even got a lil extra. located handy to buffalo beach, great place to stop for fish and chips on the beach

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Handy to Accommodation”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This takeaway was very handy to the Waterfront Apartment where we were staying.
Our Fish and chip order was very nice and met all our expectations. The staff were friendly and processed our order within a reasonable timeframe. Would have no problems visiting this takeaway again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne12367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Nice staff, bad food”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

There was very nice staff, unfortunately the food was not nice at all. it was overcooked and tasted horrible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel635635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffalo Beach Takeaway also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Buffalo Beach Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing