We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable budget backpacker accommodation”
Review of The Cats Pyjamas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cats Pyjamas
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed in the double room without ensuite. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the room was small and basic but clean. The kitchen and dining space were OK; it was difficult to find any room in the fridge, but the pantry storage was spacious. Only three showers/toilets meant sometimes there was a wait. There were a couple of cockroaches around (I saw a dismembered one in the lounge, and a very live one in the bathroom.) The communal and outdoor areas were well laid out. There is no laundry or drying room, but a laundromat around the corner. The location was excellent with shops and the beach almost on the doorstep.
For the price we felt it was quite adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for The Cats Pyjamas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

Amazing place, the most enjoyable hostel I stayed in, mostly because of the people there. Everyone is really friendly and mingles around. There is a nice TV area and lots of outdoor areas to eat and hang out.

Toilets were a little scarce - 4 showers and 3 toilets for the whole hostel (I think about 3 dorm rooms and 2 singles).

The nakedbus stops right outside the hostel if you ask Anne to call the driver for you. Intercity stops outside as well. The beach is right outside on the street, New World supermarket is a 5-7 minute walk. Liquor stores are 2 minutes away.

Beds were actually of pretty bad quality - sinking in most of the time. Rooms were equipped with fans which was very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniseyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Awesome place to stay, very laid back, clean rooms and friendly staff. Has a BBQ courtyard for drinking in the sun and only about 2mins walk to beach. Right on the main street, cant rate it high enough!

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Anitarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

The hostel is right in the middle of the town centre and only 5 minutes from the beach. All the facilities and rooms are good, but everything is very cramped, especially the kitchen, which would be impossible to use if more than 5 people were using it. The owners are very friendly and provide quick, cheap internet, as well as loads of info about weather and local attractions. There is parking for a few cars and a nice courtyard out back with picnic tables.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldsendchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

I didn't think it was bad, being my first visitied Hostel in NZ, but after staying at BASE and others, it was actually the worse one we stayed at. But, not sure where else you can stay in Whitianga?

No room in fridge, uncomfy pillow.... too warm in the shared co-ed room. BUT.... VERY FRIENDLY helpful owner. So, can't really say it was horrible for a small town!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawa_chikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lena-GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank marucach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catspyjamas2015, Manager at The Cats Pyjamas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.6 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers
On the Beach Backpackers
#6 of 24 in Whitianga
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mana-Nui Motel
Mana-Nui Motel
#8 of 18 in Whitianga
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cats Pyjamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cats Pyjamas

Address: 12 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home, The most centrally located backpackers hostel in Whitianga. We are 2 minutes walk from beach,shops, cafes,bars,restaurants and the tourist information I-Site. Take the ferry to Cook's Beach and you can also reach Hotwater Beach and Cathedral Cove by bicycle,Shuttle during the Summer or hitch-hike. As there is so much to see and do, we suggest to plan to stay for more than one night, so you can experience all the area has to offer. Includes fully-equipped kitchen (tea/coffee, herbs & spices), Outdoor Courtyard, Satellite TV, WIFI, BBQ's. Bus stop out front and off street parking available. A warm welcome awaits you from the Manager Wendy, however, the cat no longer lives here!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing