We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Tuscany in New Zealand?”
Review of Villa Toscana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Toscana
Reviewed 9 October 2013

As unlikely as it sounds, it is precisely what it is!!

As an extensively well travelled couple we were surprised to find only a few hours from our backdoor a place so pleasantly relaxing that we even forgot where we were. Villa Toscana was such a wonderful experience that Giorgio and Margherita will have to put with us again very soon, now that The Navigator knows the way there.

A must for discerning international travellers. We loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarDon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Very warm and friendly hospitality, unobtrusive but always accessible. The many little extras were a pleasant surprise and the hosts Giorgio and Marguerite have actually thought of everything.
They have created a truly authentic experience and nothing has been compromised.
The fabulous views whilst being in such close proximity to the township were an added bonus.

Ken and Audrey Wells
Auckland

Room Tip: There is just one apartment available but it is delightfully appointed and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Sadly we only experienced one night at the Villa Toscana, but on our next visit to New Zealand we will return, and for longer next time. We had a little difficulty finding the place, which was more to do with our GPS system than anything else. I was a bit tired after our journey from Rotorua, and so I rang the Villa for advice. That was my first contact with Giorgio.He said he would come down and guide us, which he did, and within minutes we arrived at the lovely VIlla Toscana.

The accommodation consists of a very pleasant kitchen, dining and living area, which is very nicely decorated and furnished. The main bedroom is quite spacious and there is adequate wardrobe space. There is also a second bedroom, which we did not use. The bathroom is a decent size and has a really good shower.

Outside there is a small table, and patio area. The views over Mercury Bay on a clear day are beautiful.

We completed our breakfast request in the evening, and there was plenty of choice. The breakfast was served in our room, and it was very relaxing, and enjoyable.

The Villa Toscana is a little piece of Italy in New Zealand, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we will definitely recommend it to our friends and family.

The only thing better than the Villa is the welcome you receive from the lovely host Giorgio and Margherita. Well Done, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We made a trip through New Zealand and this address was by far the best B&B on our trip of 3 weeks, both on the Northern- and Southern Island. Being the only guests, we had an apartment for us with a beautiful view on the bay. The hosts, Giorgio and Margherita, passionate Italians, were perfect and did everything to make our stay to perfection! The only negatives: 1) not being able to give 6 points. 2) We did not understand why one of the guests reacted so negative. Revenge?
René and Elke van Zijl

Room Tip: When arriving in Auckland after a long flight, this is the perfect address to start the trip on only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renevanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Amazing views! Lovely villa overlooking phenomenal Mercury Bay. The owners, Georgio and Margherita, couldn't have been nicer. Everything immaculate, spotless and beautiful. Breakfast provided to order, perfectly done and presentation beautiful. The best accommodation that we had in all of our travels in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debrah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

My Wife and I were married in the grounds of this beautiful private traditional huge Italian villa high up in the hills overlooking Whitianga and Mercury Bay.

Our hosts, Giorgio & Margherita Allemano were great company and provided traditional Italian cuisine for our wedding party of 28 guests. The spacious, luxurious accommodation for our first nights stay was just perfect, exquisite decor and just so comfortable. We are happy to recommend Villa Tascana to anyone looking for that something / somewhere special place to relax, unwind and absorb the stunning vista over Whitianga and Mercury Bay.

Pat & Leanne O’Connell

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

What a special place to stay!! We chose to have our wedding at Villa Toscana, because of the absolute beauty and tranquility Villa Toscana offers. Margherita and Giorgio are wonderful hosts that welcome you into their warm family home without being intrusive. Food, wine and olive oil are amazing as are the views and attention to detail that made our stay unforgettable. Thank you so much for making our wedding so beautiful. You continue to be very dear friends to us.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dom001_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
2.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
69 reviews
2.2 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge
3.2 mi away
Peninsula Motel
Peninsula Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscana

Address: 65 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: £214 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Toscana 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, secluded Tuscan style 2 bedroom luxury apartment set amongst native bush with panoramic views across Mercury Bay. Fully self contained accommodation for up to 4 persons. Outdoor spa pool, free Wi-Fi. Perfect as a romantic retreat, special occasions and honeymoon accommodation. Small intimate wedding venue with spectacular photography opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing