We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful magical place”
Review of Aotearoa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aotearoa Lodge
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful magical place”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We were nicely surprised as we drove onto the lodge's grounds. This place is unique, perfect for Whtianga. The owners are wonderful people, ready to help tourist with any issue. They made us feel welcomed like family. the continental breakfast with homemade preserves was wonderful.

Room Tip: I would think any room would work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPM1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Darryl and i would like to thank you very much staying at Aotearoa Lodge. It make our job very easy with such wonderful guest. Have a Merry xmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    44
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
67
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Took the kids for the school holidays. The rooms were lovey and clean had everything we needed to ensure we had a great stay. The couple who own it were very accommodating with all our needs. Would love to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thank you Katie we really enjoyed meeting you and your family. It makes our job very easy with such lovely guest.

From management
Aotearoa Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We arrived late after a long day of travel. Daryl was very nice upon check in, made us feel right at home. Stayed two nights and enjoyed the hotel and location very much. Took the Cathedral Cove boat tour which was fun. Decided to hike there as well

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lv2TravelDelafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We only stayed one night as we were trying to see as much of NZ as we could. We were pleasantly surprised, on arrival at Aotearoa Lodge, to have been upgraded to a self contained unit. It was so spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean! The owners arranged for Barbara to check us in as they were away but I met Darryl on our departure. They were both very helpful and friendly. We had planned to cook own own meal but ended up having a lovely meal in town at the Blue Ginger Restaurant. We wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Arrived 10 May 2012 to this quiet, spacious garden location. We were immediately made welcome by Lyn who greated us on arrival.

The accommodation was well appointed, clean with a great guest lounge.

An acitivty that we participated in was the "Cathederal Cove Scenic Cruise". Our captian was Darryl who had great knowledge of the area, this is a worthwhile activity.

Would recommend this location as a holiday destination.

Maree & Lou Kapeller

Room Tip: Take on the experience, quiet location. Only 1 km from the beach and 3 km from town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loukapeller k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

When we first arrived I hated it, dropped the luggage & went out to find somewhere else. It was so dreadfully old fashioned, not at all what we had become used to on our 6 week tour of Australia & New Zealand. Next morning, with fresh eyes, I realised how wrong I had been. Yes, it is old fashioned, but that is part of its beauty. The owners are lovely, & one of their mum's was always busy in the breakfast room. but never too busy to chat to you & make you feel welcome. The breakfast was very nice. The owner told us that the rooms are soon to be refurbished, but I hope that the uniqueness of the place is not lost.

Room Tip: Just bask in the 50's style of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Can not beat the peaceful outlook, spotless rooms, all the facililites you need to a perfect stay, the hosts Lynette & Darryl could not be friendlier and really seem to love what they do, and the bonus is you can organise a tour or boat trip wit Darryl to see all the awesome sights and marine life of the Coromandel Peninsula. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbyandRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
11.3 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotearoa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotearoa Lodge

Property: Aotearoa Lodge
Address: 70 Racecourse Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aotearoa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aotearoa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing