We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and loved Darryl!”
Review of Aotearoa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aotearoa Lodge
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it and loved Darryl!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A real gem of a place to stay. We lived in the Standard Studio for a night. Neat and tidy and appropriately located very close to Mercury Bay. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The boat trip to Cathedral Cove with Daryll was the highlight of our trip and we would love to return for a longer duration soon. We took the condensed tour of the Cathedral Cove and Orua Caves. The moment Daryll pulled the ship into the Orua cave, I was transferred into absolute bliss! Thanks a lot Darryll and family for making our weekend trip so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirishaAchanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review . We welcome your feed back.
I hope your enjoyed your stay on the Coromandel.
Thank you Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    44
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
67
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Although we did not stay at the Aotearoa Lodge, we will when we return! Darryl was our guide for 3 days while we visited the Coromandel Peninsula. We could not have found anyone better. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute we spent with him. He made sure to personalize our tour and take us places he knew we would enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillisgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hi Mr and Mrs Gillis thank you so much for a wonderful review.
It was a great pleasure meeting you and having the opportunity to show of our beautiful coast and country. We hope to look forward to meeting your son on his journey around New Zealand.
Thanking you

Darryl and Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A absolutely fantastic place to stay in Whitianga. Very friendly owners and they will go the extra mile to make your stay pleasurable and memorable. Very clean and comfortable units, excellent facilities. I had a superb time up north and would highly recommend the Lodge to other people travelling to Whitianga. The owners of the Lodge also run the Scenic Cruises to Cathedral Cove, a very worthwhile trip to make, it had that Wow! factor, I just loved the whole trip. I had a brilliant time away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Great place - need transport to get into Whitianga - self drive is best
Take advantage of the 2 day Ultimate Breakaway option which includes a visit to Mercury Winery and also a boat trip to Cathedral Cove. Amazing fun!
Lovely owners who can't do enough for you.

Room Tip: Various options but there is a lovely lounge with kitchen area - plus BBQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieannerowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Hi Maggie thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It was really great to meet your group.
I hope you had a great trip back home,

Many thanks Lynette Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

It is located close to the beach in a very quiet & pleasant setting. We got it for a good price but our room itself was quite small. We traveled with a baby..so we needed more room for him to play. The room had a fridge, cups & plates. But we thought it was a bit odd to not have a microwave. But the common lounge (with a stove top & microwave) was very close. There was no one in the lounge..so we got lucky. It had nice couch & a big screen TV. The front desk staff were very helpful & friendly. We got there after hours. All we had to do was just call & let them know the time and everything was ready for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagegirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay
May be next time you stay a family unit would be available.
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

this is our 3rd stay at this place, it's very well maintained and comfortable,

It is run by a lovely and characteristic couple who really make the stay there charming and very "KIWI" cultured.

Its located within a nice stroll to the township or beach if you enjoy a walk or a short drive which is great because there is no noise from the crowds who flock to Whitianga over summer.

All in all I Highly recommend this place if you want a great and comfortable stay, friendly atmosphere and reasonably priced accommodation in Whitianga. Thanks Daryl and Lynette.

Room Tip: check with the lodge directly for the best room rates. Ask to go out on there tour boat, it fantast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alstonville, nsw
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We had plenty of room here with our family of four. Outdoor area for kids to run around. Well stocked kitchen very handy for families. Beds very comfortable & plenty of beds for kids to choose. Very neat & clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotearoa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotearoa Lodge

Property: Aotearoa Lodge
Address: 70 Racecourse Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aotearoa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aotearoa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing