We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aotearoa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aotearoa Lodge
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle england
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had a long drive to the motel two of our party are disabled (had informed golden chain) the first room was up three steps that the person in the wheelchair found this extremely difficult, the second rooms was up a ramp the disabled room for the two disabled people and another room not connected for me to stay in! Then the owner show us another room that the managers normally stay in it was on the flat but had a bath. It was for four people and only had a sofa for two no pans bowls to cook with etc. Two of the beds were in one room and another in the corridor between the living area and the bathroom. One of the disabled guest struggled with the bath and almost fell over the water went on the floor and we tried to clean it up only to discover the floor was very dirty! I woke up with bits from the bed! We were offered the cathedral in the cove tour (ran by the motel) we declined it as we had been recommended the glass bottom boat trip by two other companies, more suitable for disabled guests we made our way to the wharf and Daryll said "you will get hammered out their it is rough" we enjoyed our cruise on the glass bottom boat and did not get sea sick. We packed up and left the owner did not even ask why! We were due to stay another night.
In our opinion this is not Gold we found the accommodation very dirty and the bed had bed bugs that had a feast on me.

Room Tip: Do not stay if disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
A very disappointing and inaccurate review. I really do feel we tried our very best to accommodate your needs. If we had of known you required wheelchair access at the time your booking came through of course we would have ensured you had the appropriate rooms. I do not find it fair to blame us for the communication breakdown between yourself and Golden Chain. The minute we were made aware of your requirements we went out of our way to find another option that would suit. Let me state at this point at no point during your stay did I see anyone in a wheelchair so I am unsure why you have indicated this was the case. Only walking sticks were used. I acknowledge the solution was not perfect but was the best we could offer at the last minute. You were clearly upset from the moment you arrived (understandably so after such a long drive) however no matter what we did or said you could not be satisfied. Please accept we were not the people that recommended you travel so far in one day but for whatever reason we seem to be the ones receiving the bad review. We are very proud of our business and will go out of our way to ensure our guest are comfortable and happy as many of our guests have commented on in the past. The mere suggestion we were anything but is offensive. As far as your damaging comments about ‘bed bugs’ you are WRONG. Our property is and has always been very clean and tidy and has only just past the Qualmark Inspection. I appreciate you must have invested a lot of time and money in your holiday and am sorry you felt so badly you had to write this review but I do NOT feel you have been truthful and fair.
Thank you
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    43
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Wow what a great place. we travelled with a another family so their where 9 of us and we all loved it. It was so beautiful and quiet and plenty of room for the kids to play.
What about Darryl's boat BEST TRIP EVER and we got to see a seal just loved it.
We will definitely be back and have told so many of our friends to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvlonGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Brett thank you so much for a wonderful review. It was really great meeting you guys, i hope you all had a rememberable trip in NZ Darryl say hi.
Thank you
Lynette / Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

After touring round it was bliss to book into a quiet location such as this. The owners were friendly and helpful and, when I had problems with the internet connection, did all that they could to help. Gentle walk to the beach but transport definitely needed of going into the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Jan Thank you so much for spending the time to review Aotearoa Lodge.
I am so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Lets hope we will have the pleasure to meet again.
Thank you
Lynette / Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A real gem of a place to stay. We lived in the Standard Studio for a night. Neat and tidy and appropriately located very close to Mercury Bay. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The boat trip to Cathedral Cove with Daryll was the highlight of our trip and we would love to return for a longer duration soon. We took the condensed tour of the Cathedral Cove and Orua Caves. The moment Daryll pulled the ship into the Orua cave, I was transferred into absolute bliss! Thanks a lot Darryll and family for making our weekend trip so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirishaAchanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review . We welcome your feed back.
I hope your enjoyed your stay on the Coromandel.
Thank you Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Although we did not stay at the Aotearoa Lodge, we will when we return! Darryl was our guide for 3 days while we visited the Coromandel Peninsula. We could not have found anyone better. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute we spent with him. He made sure to personalize our tour and take us places he knew we would enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillisgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hi Mr and Mrs Gillis thank you so much for a wonderful review.
It was a great pleasure meeting you and having the opportunity to show of our beautiful coast and country. We hope to look forward to meeting your son on his journey around New Zealand.
Thanking you

Darryl and Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

A absolutely fantastic place to stay in Whitianga. Very friendly owners and they will go the extra mile to make your stay pleasurable and memorable. Very clean and comfortable units, excellent facilities. I had a superb time up north and would highly recommend the Lodge to other people travelling to Whitianga. The owners of the Lodge also run the Scenic Cruises to Cathedral Cove, a very worthwhile trip to make, it had that Wow! factor, I just loved the whole trip. I had a brilliant time away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Great place - need transport to get into Whitianga - self drive is best
Take advantage of the 2 day Ultimate Breakaway option which includes a visit to Mercury Winery and also a boat trip to Cathedral Cove. Amazing fun!
Lovely owners who can't do enough for you.

Room Tip: Various options but there is a lovely lounge with kitchen area - plus BBQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieannerowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Hi Maggie thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It was really great to meet your group.
I hope you had a great trip back home,

Many thanks Lynette Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
11.7 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotearoa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotearoa Lodge

Property: Aotearoa Lodge
Address: 70 Racecourse Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aotearoa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Aotearoa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing