We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”
Review of Aotearoa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aotearoa Lodge
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I must say that our impression of the Aotearoa Lodge was somewhat influenced by the pouring rain and driving, cold wind the evening of our stay. The tranquil setting was lost on us and our time outside was limited to running to the car and later back to the hotel entrance and the location became just inconvenient with a bit of a drive to the area restaurants. The room itself was fairly large and clean but otherwise basic except for the bed which was great. It was very comfortable with fine sheeting; we had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was similarly large and clean but my morning shower was interrupted by an on and off drop in water pressure. We tried to do some laundry in the evening but the dryer after two runs was not up to the job. We ended up taking the wet clothes into the town to finish them at a Laundromat. Daryl was friendly and very helpful in finding us a very nice restaurant and making a reservation for us for dinner and his helper, Zoe, was also very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was very good. It is too bad we didn't have better weather to enjoy our visit to Whitianga.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrillerBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi thank you so much for taking the time to review Aotearoa Lodge.
Yes the weather puts a damper on things and places, people are aways happier when the sun is shining. I was away at the time of your visit and are pleased Zoe looked after you.
Many Thanks
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    44
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
67
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our first taste of Kiwi hospitality after getting off the plane in Auckland, and it vastly exceeded all our expectations. The lodgings were spacious and comfortable, set in a lush little park of subtropical/temperate trees and flowers, with constant birdsong--so peaceful! Daryl and Lynette were absolutely wonderful hosts, very helpful and informative. We had a lovely few days' stay.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family the self-catering suites of rooms are excellent and very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi Linda, Darryl and I would like to thank you for your very kind words.
I hope you have enjoyed your visit to New Zealand and have taken home lots of memories.
Lets hope that you will return to New zealand again.
All the very best
Lynette / Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Our 4th night in New Zealand and our 3rd motel. We arrived after a long day at 6.40pm. Our studio room was very clean and attractive being furnished to a high standard. Facilities include the most comfortable bed so far on this trip, an iron and ironing board, a verandah with decorative wooden chairs all set in a quiet location just out of town. We were disappointed to find no kitchenette in our room. There was access to a shared facility in the guest lounge which we decided not to use. As we had arrived fairly close to reception closing time (7.00pm) we did not find out how helpful the owners were until the following day. WiFi access was difficult but solved by being lent an extender. The one area we have concerns about is the sound insulation. Our first morning we were woken at 6.15 by people in neighbouring room(s) walking, closing doors and showering. Strangely we did not hear talking. Both neighbouring rooms were vacant on our second night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi John thank you so much for your great review. The job is made easy with wonderful people like your self.
I hope that the rest off your stay in New Zealand was pleasurableAll the best
Lynette / Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our tour of the Coromandel Peninsula and stay at Aotearoa Lodge was incredibly enjoyable. Lynette and Daryl are extremely hospitable and friendly. The accommodation was most comfortable and breakfast generous. We were given a personal tour of the area by Lynette and Daryl - both very informed guides. The tour called "A Taste of Coromandel" included pick-up and drop-off at our Auckland hotel. We cannot speak too highly of our experience. Thanks again Lynette and Daryl.

Room Tip: Rooms opening on to the front deck are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi Peter, Margaret,
Thank you so much for you really nice review. As you know you are only as good as what your customer are and you and Margaret are really great couple. Darryl and I would like to thank you so much for traveling with Aotearoa Tours,
Many Thanks
Darryl & Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very friendly welcome.Given answers to all the important questions before we even asked them.Shown personally to accommodation not just given keys as is the norm.Close to the beach.Whole family enjoyed Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises operated by Darryl very friendly owner.Went on the 8:30 cruise loved it.Will recommend it to friends.Carry on giving great service.

Miriam.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay and i am pleased you enjoyed the boat trip. Darryl said thank you for the beer.
Regards Lynette / Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had a long drive to the motel two of our party are disabled (had informed golden chain) the first room was up three steps that the person in the wheelchair found this extremely difficult, the second rooms was up a ramp the disabled room for the two disabled people and another room not connected for me to stay in! Then the owner show us another room that the managers normally stay in it was on the flat but had a bath. It was for four people and only had a sofa for two no pans bowls to cook with etc. Two of the beds were in one room and another in the corridor between the living area and the bathroom. One of the disabled guest struggled with the bath and almost fell over the water went on the floor and we tried to clean it up only to discover the floor was very dirty! I woke up with bits from the bed! We were offered the cathedral in the cove tour (ran by the motel) we declined it as we had been recommended the glass bottom boat trip by two other companies, more suitable for disabled guests we made our way to the wharf and Daryll said "you will get hammered out their it is rough" we enjoyed our cruise on the glass bottom boat and did not get sea sick. We packed up and left the owner did not even ask why! We were due to stay another night.
In our opinion this is not Gold we found the accommodation very dirty and the bed had bed bugs that had a feast on me.

Room Tip: Do not stay if disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
A very disappointing and inaccurate review. I really do feel we tried our very best to accommodate your needs. If we had of known you required wheelchair access at the time your booking came through of course we would have ensured you had the appropriate rooms. I do not find it fair to blame us for the communication breakdown between yourself and Golden Chain. The minute we were made aware of your requirements we went out of our way to find another option that would suit. Let me state at this point at no point during your stay did I see anyone in a wheelchair so I am unsure why you have indicated this was the case. Only walking sticks were used. I acknowledge the solution was not perfect but was the best we could offer at the last minute. You were clearly upset from the moment you arrived (understandably so after such a long drive) however no matter what we did or said you could not be satisfied. Please accept we were not the people that recommended you travel so far in one day but for whatever reason we seem to be the ones receiving the bad review. We are very proud of our business and will go out of our way to ensure our guest are comfortable and happy as many of our guests have commented on in the past. The mere suggestion we were anything but is offensive. As far as your damaging comments about ‘bed bugs’ you are WRONG. Our property is and has always been very clean and tidy and has only just past the Qualmark Inspection. I appreciate you must have invested a lot of time and money in your holiday and am sorry you felt so badly you had to write this review but I do NOT feel you have been truthful and fair.
Thank you
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Wow what a great place. we travelled with a another family so their where 9 of us and we all loved it. It was so beautiful and quiet and plenty of room for the kids to play.
What about Darryl's boat BEST TRIP EVER and we got to see a seal just loved it.
We will definitely be back and have told so many of our friends to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvlonGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Brett thank you so much for a wonderful review. It was really great meeting you guys, i hope you all had a rememberable trip in NZ Darryl say hi.
Thank you
Lynette / Darryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotearoa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotearoa Lodge

Property: Aotearoa Lodge
Address: 70 Racecourse Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aotearoa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aotearoa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing