We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mercury Orchard Accommodation
Ranked #18 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Three of us had only a couple of nights in Fig Cottage but wish we could have had longer. Barry was running the place on his own whilst his wife was visiting family in Australia. A charming helpful man who couldn't do enough for us. His breakfasts are not to be missed - although the weighing scales may say otherwise. A beautifully situated B&B with plenty to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AspireChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and found it very relaxing & enjoyable. The area was so peaceful and made our stay in the Coramandel all that much better. So nice to stay somewhere out of way of the usual tourist places but still they were within easy reach when needed.

We really enjoyed the company of the dogs in the morning & also the chats with Barry & Heather. Also if you're a golfer there's a nice little nine-hole less than 5 minutes up the road ... Barry won't need an excuse to join you ! Note that you won't need lunch with the brekky's provided in the morning !! Can't go past the home-made muesli, freshly squeezed juices & the cooked option if you can fit it in.

Will definitely be back on our next trip to NZ to visit Barry, Heather, & the doggies.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed in the Fig Cottage for 2 nights and found it incredibly relaxing - a firm favourite in future. The consideration Barry and Heather show for their guests and small touches everywhere make it all look effortless.

With the array of animals they keep, the dense orchard of fruit and the neighbours' dog coming over for a play during breakfast on our porch (cooked and delicious) you can't help but chill out.

Barry and Heather are genuinely keen for their guests to enjoy their time there and you leave wanting to stay longer. Being so close to such a great part of Coromandel just makes it easier to return there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieMan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This place was without a doubt, perfection. We stayed in the Fig Cottage which was perfect. It is so secluded and peaceful amongst the orchard, and yet just minutes away from every attraction you could want. Hot Water beach, Cathedral Cove, a great Macadamia oil farm etc. We BBq'ed each night we were there because it was so nice to be able to do this, after an extensive tour around NZ in hotels etc. for our honeymoon. This was definitely one of the highlights of our honeymoon and I will most certainly return. My husband found it very relaxing to paint in the orchard, and the hosts were ever so nice and provided us with beautiful avocados and tomatoes from the garden. I can not imagine there is a better place to stay in the Coromandel, and I am extremely particular. They also have very cute cheeky spaniel dogs which you will want to put in your suitcase home.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatechaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Mercury Orchard was such a lovely place for us. The hosts, were extremely friendly and welcoming. They were also very helpful with restaurant recommendations, making reservations and giving us insider tips at local tourists attractions. They took extremely good care of us. There breakfast every morning was FANTASTIC. The freshest of fruits and delicious eggs and bacon. The presentation of the food is even a picture moment. The grounds are breathtaking. There are Fruit trees of all sorts around to pick from, beautiful rose bushes, and other gardens to stroll through. For those who love animals they have quite a few adorable ones that will make you smile and for those who aren't as big of fans, don't worry they are out of view as you have to take a short walk to get see them. Its in a great location and easy to find. The cottage we stayed in was very clean and the bed was extremely comfy. They have bed warmers too if you choose to use them for those who get cold easily. Leaving was bittersweet, we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camoore7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed for two nights as part of our three week tour of New Zealand, we really wished we could hav stayed longer, Barry and Heather were so friendly and full of advice about the local area, they even provided us with a spade and towels so we could experience Hot Water Beach(a must do)
Breakfast was a real treat with freshly squeezed juice and homemade cereals plus a full cooked breakfast.
This place is really relaxing and a home from home.clean and pretty and well equiped it has everything you could wish for and the owners make it that bit extra special

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in Cormonadel in Pau Bach cottage at Mercury Orchard just before flying home rather than staying in Auckland - so glad we did! SUperb location to gte to Hot water beach or Cathedral Cove. Bryan and Hetaher were wonderful hosts very helping unassuming and relaxed - lots of advice on local attractions and restaurants - great recomends and booked them for us too - you get a lovely breakfast as you like served on your own verandah table. Cottage is lovely plenty of privacy and quiet set in the cottages orchard and has a geuine wood cottage homely feel to it.
Ate at 2 lovely restauarnts nearby - you must go to Eggcentric - you walk in and it looks like a hippy cafe but dont be put off the food is excellent - top restaurant quality but in a realxed setting.
Would recommend anyone spend a couple of days in croromandel and stay at the Mercury Orchard

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
5.4 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
39 reviews
6.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mana-Nui Motel
Mana-Nui Motel
#8 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercury Orchard Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Orchard Accommodation

Address: 141 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £63 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paua Bach and Fig Tree Cottage are nestled amongst 5 acres of peaceful country gardens and orchard. Two self-contained garden cottages, country-style luxury with French doors opening out into the orchard, crisp cotton bed linen, fresh fruit, flowers and candles. Special to Paua Bach is an old fashioned outdoor bath. Watch the variety of our birdlife, smell the blossoms and flowers, listen to the wind in the old trees and explore the hidden places. Quiet and relaxing, perfect for that special anniversary or as a restful time away. The area is well known for crafts and gardens. Local activities include swimming, diving, bush walking, tramping, horse riding, fishing, kayaking, scenic boat cruises and golf. Cathedral Cove, Cooks and Hot Water Beaches are 7-8 min. drive. There are several good cafés and restaurants close by, alternatively BBQ your evening meal Kiwi style. Meet our friendly dog, kune kune pigs and chickens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing