We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View or the ocean- but sooo out of date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Friendly staff but this place could do with a makeover. I stayed in an upstairs studio room. It was a good size with a balcony. The kitchenette must have been 20 years old, it was wooden with old appliances. The bathroom was also dated. Im not a fan of standing in a bath to shower and strangely, the toilet was hung on the wall about 20 cms higher than it should be.
Old leather sofas were in the unit and a strange set up with a curtain around the bed. However the bed was large and very comfortable and the bathrobes were great. The towels are old and thin. The downstairs one bedroom units did look as if they had a modernised kitchen Not somewhere i would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodTriptips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

I can highly recommend this motel which deserves its' 5 stars. It has a beautiful setting and it was a delight to sit on the terrace in front of our room looking over the immaculate gardens to the gorgeous Mercury Bay.
Another point of difference is that the motel had two couches in the lounge - most motels only have spare beds to sit on.
We had a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor. All appliances including dishwasher were new and the apartment was spotless. No sign of wear and tear at all.
The only downside was the loo which was way too high, and wedged too close to the spa bath.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was so glad to find this place thanks to Trip Advisor.
I then went to their web page and made use of one of their 2012 B & B packages.
Stayed in a first floor studio mid April, we had booked for 5 nights but stayed the extra night just to go again to the 'Lost Spring'
The studio accommodation is exactly as described, well equipped, even a dishwasher, clean spacious & has beautiful sea views.
The all year round pool is a welcome bonus as I love swimming.
Added touches like the bath robes are also very welcome.
Plenty of towels even for the pool, saves having to ask all the time.
I do agree with the other comments about the wall hung loo being quite high, especially as I'm quite short, but minor detail.
The new owner is nice and friendly, loved the puppy!
Can't wait to go again!
The 'Lost Spring' is a must and enhanced our holiday, see my review & photos for more on TLS.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Driving along the beautiful coastline of Whitianga, the Admiralty Lodge Motel caught our eye. From the road it appears to be big enough that they may have rooms available on spec, but small enough to offer a more personal level of service.

Rolling up mid morning with our battlebus, (a very underpowered and extremely uncomfortable camper van) it was nice to see that there was plenty of easy to access parking that would not involve me having to fight the cumbersome vehicle into a tight space.

The owner and team were busy cleaning the rooms, but were only too happy to oblige with booking us in and letting us choose from the available accommodation. Rates were lower than we were expecting, for the equivalent standard. At their recommendation, we selected one of the ground floor units that were suitable for 3-4 people as a family. Coming through the door into the self contained, fully equipped kitchen area and massive lounge, we were immediately greeted by the stunning views through the double patio doors onto the lodge's pool area with Buffalo Beach as an amazing backdrop. Our unit had a large master bedroom with 2 single beds around the edge of the lounge area. The Lounge itself had 2 huge leather sofas, a stereo and a large flat screen tv with dvd player. Opening the double doors took you outside to a raised patio with table, chairs and large umbrella, with steps down to the outside walk.
The pool area was fenced off with child safe gates and the pool was very well maintained and oh so welcoming in the heat of summer.

The owners have gone to a lot of trouble to provide maps, local information and even take away / delivery menu's from the village.

The lodge is on the outskirts of the town and not really walking distance in the heat, but this is a very minor point. I would happily come back to this lodge and use it as a driving base for exploring more of the coromandel peninsula.

Room Tip: The downstairs units each have their own patio, the upstairs units have a sun room. The sunrises ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have to say that this motel is one of the if not the best place we have stayed in on our tour of New Zealand! The room was beautiful and very clean, it even was full of loads of extras (dvd player,full kitchen w/ oven, dishwasher..ect,) that other hotels fail to even have as an option. The view was beautiful and the staff was very lovely. the staff were there to help at any moment and were genuinly good people. If your looking for a place to stay at while visiting the coromandel, look no further. you will find all you want and more at the admiralty lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernando c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Admiralty Lodge has generally had very good reviews on Trip Advisor - and justifyably so in our very recent experience. The motel has changed ownership in the last few weeks, and the new owners made a special offer through my wife's work for a weekend away. With the wonderful (finally) settled weather promising a fine weekend we decided to make the trip to Whitianga - and it was well worthwhile. Most of the facilities of the motel have been covered in previous posts, but it remains a very comfortable and satisfying place to stay. We were on the first floor with that wonderful view of Mercury Bay. Although fine for the whole w/e it was quite cloudy most of the time, so we didn't see any spectacular sunrises - which must happen when it's clear.
The room (if that's the right word) was huge. A full kitchen including m'wave, proper stove with 4 burner hob, dishwasher and all the usual additions made it a great place to self cater. The bathroom was excellent - though the wall-hung loo was amazingly high off the floor. (We ended up calling it the Hillary step, as in mountaineering!). We didn't use the spa bath but the shower was excellent as were all the supplied toiletries and the great big, generous white terry bathrobes. Perhaps one of the most important things was that everything, and I mean everything, was spotlessly clean - a huge plus.
So we enjoyed our stay very much. The Coromandel has so much to offer, even for a short 2 day weekend, and the Admirality Lodge would be a great place to base yourself. Keep up the good work everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My family and I stayed at the lodge recently and were amazed at how friendly and accommodating the staff/owners were. They went out of their way to help us book activities, had heaps of good knowledge of the area and even personally drove us to Coramandel Town when we missed our shuttle! I've never met more genuine, caring people than the owners. Thank you for a great trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
11.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: £145 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing