We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star...Really??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star...Really??”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It pays to shop around. We have stayed at other '5 Star' accommodation in Whitianga which were alot nicer, the staff more friendlier, and the rooms much cheaper than the Admiralty Lodge.

The rooms were spacious and clean but they didn't feel very private. The leather couch was slippery, uncomfortable and hard, and the beds were way too soft!

The bathroom was located in the middle of the apartment so had no external windows. The room fogged up rather fast upon showering, and the condensation lingered for ages due to poor ventilation.

As far as word of mouth would go, I wouldn't recommend the Admiralty Lodge to anyone.

Room Tip: Shop around. There are nicer "5 Star" places in town that cost alot less than Admiralty Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crash2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Star rating is provided by Qualmark, based on their strict guidelines and annual audits. I am not aware of any other 5 Star accommodation in Whitianga, except there are some B&B's and that is a different playing field.

In regards to the condensation in the bathroom, this is the first time I have heard about it, each bathroom has a exhaust fan which runs for an additional time even after switching it off, in order to remove all moisture. I will have the maintenance people look in all the bathrooms for this issue. The condensation you may have felt could be due to high humidity, as we had some summer days where the humidity level was extremely high.

Unfortunately, the bed's softness/hardness is more of a personal preference. I do have rooms which have firm mattresses. Wish you had mentioned something during your stay and I would have been more than happy to relocate you to a room with a firm mattress.

It will be great if you could let me know the staff issues so I can discuss it with them and improve upon, we always strive to improve and enhance the guest experience.

Once again, I apologize for the issues you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    66
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
159
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our room was very comfortable & the unit was fully stocked with all comforts of home. We had no noise issues & even the putt-putt (9th hole) outside our backdoor didn't affect us. There was 1 couple who played that night, but they were quiet & we had a calm, relaxing evening. The view was nice, but not close to the water. It's beyond the highway which is in front of the Motel. It was close to everything you would need & even though it was right on a major highway, we were not bothered at all! Management was very polite & helpful, too! Great place to stay while in the area!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUVU2MUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful time. Whitianga is a great place to visit and thank you for choosing to stay with us. If your travel plans bring you to this area, I hope you will choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Before I explain why I have scored this motel so badly I will first start by saying that the facilities are good and the rooms were modern and clean. However, the motel building is clearly cheaply built. This is reflected in the fact that when the neighbouring unit turns their shower on the noise is so loud that it is like you are actually in the shower yourself. This would not normally be too bad, unless of course the people in the neighbouring unit decide to start showering at 10:30pm and do not finish until after 1am (with only a few moments of peace when I assume they were getting dirty again). The motel did not provide any contact number for the manager and knocking on their door was unproductive. When the manager was informed the next day he seemed disinterested at best. I would suggest you stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 104 and the noise from the plumbing was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I am extremely sorry to hear about your experience at the lodge and thank you for bringing it to my attention that morning. I believe the water noise you heard was from the Spabath being used late at night from the unit above yours and I can understand the frustration.

I apologize if you felt that I was disinterested in listening to your concern. I do care about my customers and want them to have a comfortable stay. I hope you wont judge us too harshly with this unpleasant issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were on honeymoon trip and were very much pleased with this hotel. We had studio suite with spa bath. The views were amazing from room of the beach and the sunrise view was amazing. The staff was also extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the studio suite with spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nss4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and it is great that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us on your honeymoon trip. I hope you enjoyed rest of the New Zealand trip, as it has a lot to offer.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during a special time in your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great place for the family, in a close position to supermarkets and other attractions (5mins away) and a really great pool just outside our room! I would recommend it for anyone taking a short stay in whitianga :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank India P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for comments and it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Heated pool is a big hit, equally with kids and adults. I hope you will choose to stay with us whenever visiting Whitianga again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights, room was huge, clean & really comfortable.
Staff extremely friendly, warm & welcoming. Location was central, easy access to beach, walks and an average stroll or very short drive to shops & restaurants Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxinrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about us. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience Whitianga. Although a small town, it has a lot to offer to the visitors. We look forward to your return visit to the Admiralty Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

From the outside this place looks like an average motel, but the rooms are excellent and the views from the rooms are amazing. Everything you could need is included, free WiFi and sky channels. Quiet and welcoming, with a lovely pool. Good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billi_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the Admiralty Lodge. I am glad that your stay with us was a comfortable one and you enjoyed the amenities we offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Property: Admiralty Lodge Motel
Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing