We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to be perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Near to be perfect!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very very friendly & competent manager! Large cosy rooms. Perfect kitchenette, awesome seaview. The heated pool invites to swim before breakfast! Very clean all around. We stayed longer than planned, because we liked this place so much.

Room Tip: If you prefer an quite accommodation NOT in the town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    66
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
159
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A great place to stay we were here for a week and really enjoyed our break. The pool is wonderful as is slightly heated so were able to make use of it morning and night. The staff are all very friendly and do a great job. Room is good size and traffic noise is not a problem

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

It's our 2nd time staying here and it is the best in whitianga
We last stayed here 3-4 years ago and even with a change of ownership it's good to see same high standard is carried through.

New owners and management are so lovely. And the motel pet dog MASTI is the best and kept our daughter occupied for ages.

Highly recommend this place

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash_84nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

After six weeks traveling and countless hotels and motels, we found this oasis a welcome respite. The room was well equipped, and although our schedule allowed only two days, we could have stayed much longer. The room was spacious with a kitchenette, and restful seating area overlooking the ocean. The mattress was comfortable as were the pillows. I managed to forget some clothing behind in the room and was impressed and thankful with how well my problem was handled by forwarding the package to another hotel in my itinerary.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_bug432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sark, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at Admiralty Lodge for 3 nights, had a second floor sea view. it couldn't have been better, The staff are so helpful and then in house pizzas wonderful. we enjoyed the patio area looking out tos ea, excellent as the large picture windows open for a hot day or you can sit behind glass and enjoy the view. a quieter end of town too.

Room Tip: Second floor has great sea views and a patio with large opening windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puffin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We decided to end our trip to New Zealand with a week to relax on the Coromandel peninsula. We had briefly stayed in the area on a previous visit and decided that Whitianga would be the best place to stay to explore the top end of the peninsula. The i-site pointed us in the direction of The Admiralty saying it had been recently refurbished. We were actually given the disabled accommodation which had a particularly spacious bathroom with a walk in shower and bathrobes. The rest of the accommodation was equally spacious and comprised a separate bedroom with king-sized bed, a kitchen area with fridge/freezer, microwave, cooker and plenty of cutlery/crockery for four people. Tea, coffee and milk were supplied and replenished daily. Breakfast is available if required but we did not have this, preferring to visit the local supermarket and stock up for ourselves. There was also a large lounge, big enough to accommodate two single beds as well as two sofas and a coffee table. This was especially useful as we had enough luggage for a long trip so were able to store it out of the way. A flat screen tv had Sky channels and free Wi-Fi is also available. We were on the ground floor with easy access to the pool and a private terrace where we had our breakfast. The building faces east so gets the morning sun but unfortunately this disappears by mid-afternoon and it can feel quite chilly. However the sun remains in the pool area until quite late.
The apartment was serviced daily with sheets and towels replaced regularly. The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful. There are mountain bikes to borrow for a ride along the sea front opposite the motel and spades to use at Hot Water Beach.
This was the first time we have ever stayed in a motel, having stayed in B&Bs and homestays previously. We were very impressed with the accommodation and will definitely consider staying in motels on any future visit to NZ. The only downside to The Admiralty is its position right on the side of the road into town, so there can be quite a lot of traffic noise. However, the foliage and pool area provide a certain amount of privacy.
Whitianga is a fairly decent-sized town offering plenty of daytime activities and places to eat. It is within easy reach of Coromandel Town and Hot Water Beach and travelling along the 309 road is an experience in itself.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have a better sea view but are smaller studio rooms. The ground floor rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were in Whitianga for a family occasion and only stayed the one night in the disabled room at the Admiralty Lodge, but found it to be a very pleasant stay.
We had a disabled room because I have difficulty walking and at times (more often that not these days) need the use of a wheelchair.
The room was easy to get into with the chair (there were appropriate ramps from the carpark), and certainly fine to navigate around. If I wanted to go onto the deck at the front, there was a slight problem with being able to do so. Lucky I was able to use my crutches to get me there, as I know we would not have been able to take the wheelchair over the lip of the doorway, so not too good there. As a side note, the beautiful view of Buffalo Beach is almost totally blocked by a silly palm tree that has been planted right in the middle of your view, so you had to look either left or right to see the ocean.
The bed was incredibly low to the floor, which would have been impossible for me to get off on my own, and very difficult even with the help of someone else. Fortunately, I had bought along my own little gadget, called a bed lever, which enabled me to get off.
The bathroom was adequate, although there was a lack of hand rails, there was one by the toilet and another by the shower, but nothing to help you get from one to the other. There was a rail by the washbasin, which was incredibly handy.
In the shower there is a tiny little wall mounted seat made of plastic, I didn't use this as being around 100kg, I felt that I would end up on the floor if I did, totally unsuitable, and frankly quite useless.
The toilet was of a good height for me (being 6 foot tall), but without a drop down rail on one side, still made it a bit of a challenge.
But all in all, I have stayed in quite a lot worse around the country, and if you are not a 6 foot, 100kg man, you will most likely have no problems. So I do recommend this motel to anyone that is disabled, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevdarev56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Property: Admiralty Lodge Motel
Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing