We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here based on Tripadvisor reviews and totally agree that it is positioned well for Hot Water beach etc. The owner was welcoming and helpful. The rooms are huge and have new carpet and are fairly clean. However, you can tell they are old rooms regardless of the renovations and have a few quirks that made our stay a little uncomfortable. Most of the quirks were not deal breakers but more annoying such as the bathroom fan that was so loud and did not turn off for a good 15 minutes each time you left the bathroom, or the old draw string blinds that were dirty, and paper thin walls that you could hear the showers/tubs running etc, But the one thing that was very odd were the glass entry doors. While these were privacy type glass you could still see people walking by outside. One night a man was trying to get into our room (had the wrong room) and it was quite scary watching him fiddle with his key trying to get in to our room. Not sure what the purpose of glass front doors are, but made us uncomfortable. Everything went well but not sure we would stay again due to these few niggles.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms had lovely views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mika98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    66
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
155
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My family of 4 stayed here last December. We love the spacious apartment, very clean & comfortable. My teen & pre-teen were so happy with the fast unlimited Internet. Great location for Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach as well as shops & restaurants. Peaceful & quiet at night. Fantastic view being just opposite Buffalo Beach. Owner is warm & friendly. Wished we could have stayed longer! Will definitely recommend this place to friends looking for good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chong_n_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and it is exciting to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. If your travel plans bring you to Whitianga again, we hope you will choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A great place to stay in a convenient location to the rest of the region. Large rooms with nice furnishings and a great little kitchen with everything you need. Relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. Order breakfast with your stay as the breakfast is amazing. Poached eggs perfectly done and a great yoghurt special. You have a bit of noise from the street at times but with the double glass windows you tend to fade it away.
Enjoy beautiful views from the top floor over the beach front and the pool.

Room Tip: Would recommend the top floor to stay in a deluxe room for a great getaway with your partner take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyG526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very very friendly & competent manager! Large cosy rooms. Perfect kitchenette, awesome seaview. The heated pool invites to swim before breakfast! Very clean all around. We stayed longer than planned, because we liked this place so much.

Room Tip: If you prefer an quite accommodation NOT in the town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A great place to stay we were here for a week and really enjoyed our break. The pool is wonderful as is slightly heated so were able to make use of it morning and night. The staff are all very friendly and do a great job. Room is good size and traffic noise is not a problem

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

It's our 2nd time staying here and it is the best in whitianga
We last stayed here 3-4 years ago and even with a change of ownership it's good to see same high standard is carried through.

New owners and management are so lovely. And the motel pet dog MASTI is the best and kept our daughter occupied for ages.

Highly recommend this place

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash_84nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

After six weeks traveling and countless hotels and motels, we found this oasis a welcome respite. The room was well equipped, and although our schedule allowed only two days, we could have stayed much longer. The room was spacious with a kitchenette, and restful seating area overlooking the ocean. The mattress was comfortable as were the pillows. I managed to forget some clothing behind in the room and was impressed and thankful with how well my problem was handled by forwarding the package to another hotel in my itinerary.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_bug432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Property: Admiralty Lodge Motel
Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing