We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on the Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on the Bay!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stumbled across this hotel as a one-night stopover point, and couldn't leave! Just kept on adding days to our vacation so we could enjoy the luxurious accommodations and the warm hospitality of the manager and staff. One of the best parts was sleeping each night to the sound of the gentle waves on the beach across the street. We practice international law, and so have stayed in myriad places throughout the world, and we've never been happier than here. Thank you Ambudge! (Doug & Amy from NYC & Chicago)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    66
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
159
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stylish and clean apartments. Great spa bath with lots of room. Great sea views and comfy beds. Area outside for smokers. We had no problem with traffic noise. Everything you could want in a hotel for a weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the location was a bit disappointing. It’s indeed opposite Buffalo Beach, however with Highway 25 in front of the hotel it’s not real a Beachfront hotel. The highway is quite busy, so it was quite noisy on the poolside in front of the lodge and also on the terrace in front of our room. The room was huge, but with the 2 extra beds in the living room (we had also a bedroom) there was still little space. In the hotel description we found as an extra, that the room had a Jacuzzi. However it didn’t work and there was a card in the bathroom with the request not to use the Jacuzzi to save water!! The room itself was clean but the bathroom and also the lining was very dated, we didn’t notice anything of the mentioned renovations. The bathroom fan that was so loud and did not turn off for a good 15 minutes each time you switched on/off on the light in the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia-en-Rudolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I am sorry for the disappointment with your stay. Unfortunately I feel some of the comments left are incorrect; we do not have lining in the bathroom as all the walls have ceramic tiles which are in perfect condition. We do not have signs in the bathroom asking guests to avoid using the spa, rather it is luxury we offer and encourage guests to use it. The last time we had a non working spa was in September 2013 on a Sunday and it was fixed the same day by replacing a part from another room. The fans do turn on to expel air and moisture from the bathroom but turn off within 10 minutes. The windows and doors are double glazed to prevent outside noise, but if there are any loud vehicles going by, you may be able to hear them. I do apologize for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Wota hotel.. clean comfortable and spacious. Realy is a 5star!! Manager was awesome and makes the nicest pizzas, will be getting another one today!!
Will definitely be back when another get away is required. A must stay!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrenfss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad you enjoyed the freshly baked Pizza. Hope you will be back with us for a longer stay and more Pizzas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here based on Tripadvisor reviews and totally agree that it is positioned well for Hot Water beach etc. The owner was welcoming and helpful. The rooms are huge and have new carpet and are fairly clean. However, you can tell they are old rooms regardless of the renovations and have a few quirks that made our stay a little uncomfortable. Most of the quirks were not deal breakers but more annoying such as the bathroom fan that was so loud and did not turn off for a good 15 minutes each time you left the bathroom, or the old draw string blinds that were dirty, and paper thin walls that you could hear the showers/tubs running etc, But the one thing that was very odd were the glass entry doors. While these were privacy type glass you could still see people walking by outside. One night a man was trying to get into our room (had the wrong room) and it was quite scary watching him fiddle with his key trying to get in to our room. Not sure what the purpose of glass front doors are, but made us uncomfortable. Everything went well but not sure we would stay again due to these few niggles.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms had lovely views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mika98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My family of 4 stayed here last December. We love the spacious apartment, very clean & comfortable. My teen & pre-teen were so happy with the fast unlimited Internet. Great location for Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach as well as shops & restaurants. Peaceful & quiet at night. Fantastic view being just opposite Buffalo Beach. Owner is warm & friendly. Wished we could have stayed longer! Will definitely recommend this place to friends looking for good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chong_n_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and it is exciting to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. If your travel plans bring you to Whitianga again, we hope you will choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A great place to stay in a convenient location to the rest of the region. Large rooms with nice furnishings and a great little kitchen with everything you need. Relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. Order breakfast with your stay as the breakfast is amazing. Poached eggs perfectly done and a great yoghurt special. You have a bit of noise from the street at times but with the double glass windows you tend to fade it away.
Enjoy beautiful views from the top floor over the beach front and the pool.

Room Tip: Would recommend the top floor to stay in a deluxe room for a great getaway with your partner take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyG526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Property: Admiralty Lodge Motel
Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing