We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all home made!”
Review of Jandals Cafe

Jandals Cafe
Ranked #16 of 56 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bay of Islands, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Its all home made!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This place is a little Gem. Everything is made in house and the display cabinet is always filled with freshly made items, I want to eat them all... however, this is not possible. Their Lemon posset cheese cake is to die for! you wont be disappointed

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    52
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just another cafe”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Was recommended this place for breakfast. I ordered a regular cappuccino, scrambled eggs with wholegrain toast, and the coffee first please. The eggs came out with what looked like white toast, and the coffee arrived just as I was finishing the eggs off. How hard is it to get things in the order they are requested.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deserttrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easy eating”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Friendly and efficient staff; good food; excellent value for money; highly recommended for breakfast or lunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DutchColinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast in whitianga”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast before continuing on the rest of our holiday. We'd seen some good reviews so we thought it would be worth checking out.
I ordered the chorizo beans, long black (like I always do) and a herbed muffin, I can't remember what type.
I remember it being an incredible breakfast, filling and tasty but did not seem too unhealthy or overindulgent
The coffee was great, service was fast and had a nice seat in the sun. Overall a really great cafe
Pros: quick service, great food, good coffee
Cons: jandals are really called thongs - they should really change their name :p

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quick yummy breakfast”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault this place; great food, amazing coffee and quick and friendly service. The chorizo with baked beans was great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenolan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jandals Cafe also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Jandals Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing