We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you want to get any sleep”

The Whitianga Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Whitianga Hotel
Ranked #19 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you want to get any sleep”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We crashed in one of the dorm rooms for the night. I was lucky and got the lumpy, sinky single bed. My 2 "room-ies" lucked out and got the bunk bed ....... from hell. Every single slight movement, a turn, a scratch, any sort of adjustment even breathing heavily resulted in horrendous squeaking...just like a bunch of rats about to get whizzed up in a blender. This weird night was made stranger only by having to enter and exit by the fire escape.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Tired looking decor, and food not good. Ordered a potato pie, it was lumpy and full of grease.
So won't be going back here. Staff needs to smile more.
I was very disappointed and others said the same so not just me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daibach999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Came in to town very late and had dinner at the pub hotel. Was worried about getting accomadation so late but our bar man offered us a clean inexpensive room at the pub hotel. Very friendly, clean and great location. Was very happy after a long drive.

Room Tip: Prob pays to research before you get to town and you will have more options for other places as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We went into the pub for a drink and had a fun time with the band. They were a typical NZ cover band - you knew what you were going to get but that was cool! The bar area is massive, beer and cider on tap was great too

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 70sammy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonNZ
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This isnt really a Hotel or a Motel. Its a room.
Its pretty basic....but its not trying to be anything special...it just is what it is.
We shared a room between three.
A couple of points....old soap was left in the showerd and a old pot of tea was left in the tea pot. That was a bit ewwwwww.
We had the warmest greeting by a lovely guy behind the bar. My only suggestion is I wish he had taken the time to tell us about the resturant...as we kinda felt like we werent wanted there...so we ate out. We had come from doing a big walk at the beach...so probably looked a bit hot and bothered.
The rooms are above the bar/resturant and the noise (esp the scarping of chairs on the concret was annoying) was a bit loud but thats to be expected...but by 1ish...it was dead quiet...so not a problem.
It was however, weird going down the morning and not a soul in site. Just some signs saying we were being watched and not to go past a certain point. Odd.
Would I stay again.....hmmmm probably not..
But $90 for three adults was a bargin.

Room Tip: Just take it as it comes....Dont expect too much and you wont be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Turtlecove Accommodation
Turtlecove Accommodation
#8 of 23 in Whitianga
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Backpackers
On the Beach Backpackers
#7 of 23 in Whitianga
139 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitianga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitianga Hotel

Property: The Whitianga Hotel
Address: 1 Blacksmith Lane, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing