We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great end to a fabulous first trip to NZ!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Ranked #8 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked the B&B from a referral by the local B&B association. From the first contact, Chris was most welcoming and provided helpful information. Even though we arrived in the rain it was a spectacular place to end our trip. Chris & Paul are great hosts. The breakfasts were fabulous -- yummy pastries and other things. This was a trip to celebrate my husbands birthday and Chris invited us to have mussel fritters and a drink with them one evening. The fritters & ginger sauce were amazing and the conversation was wonderful. Hot Springs Beach which is nearby was a fun experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCBNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our experience at Mussel Bed was delightful and set the standard for our long awaited trip to New Zealand. Chris & Paul went over and above expectations in order to assure we were comfortable and graciously shared their beautiful grounds. Each day began with a delicious breakfast and suggestions for enjoying the area. The cottage was very comfortable for 2 couples - modern & cheerful. Our only regret is that it is too far from home for us to become "regulars". Thanks again Chris & Paul

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

After a long flight to NZ and busy days in Marlborough wine country, our relaxing stay at Mussel Bed was perfect. Paul and Chris were delightful and became immediate friends. They were very helpful and knowledgeable in guiding us around the sites and even provided shovels for digging at the Hot Beach. The accommodations were spacious and very comfortable and the food was exceptional and plentiful. They exceeded our highest expectations and, having traveled extensively, that is hard to do.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Visited Mussel Bed while in NZ visiting family - sitting on one of those beautiful decks with wine in hand - surveying those beautiful grounds- and a few minutes stroll to the beach - it doesn't get much better. Great coffee and hosts Paul and Chris - had the pleasure of sharing a day out on a boat with them as well - couldn't have been more helpful with local knowledge. Would recomment this B & B to anyone, couples, families, group of friends - so much to see in the area as well.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful with different themes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. We agree with the many positive reviews. We would happily have stayed much longer. If you are touring by car and are in the Whitianga area for just a short time the location is particularly good - the same side of the harbour as Shakespeare Cliff, Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, with the passenger ferry 2 or so kms away to take you straight into Whitianga itself. Cook's Bay itself is a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamGamgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We spent just 2 nights at the Mussel Bed and truly wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful location, walking distance to beach, fantastic gardens - and breakfast delivered to your door!!!! Laundry was done for free, and we had a boat trip with Chris and Paul's son, Justin, which was great. Just excellent, great hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

What a beautiful setting having drinks on the deck looking out at the lush gardens. Sun setting, birds chirping and comfortable modern accomodation just in the door. Beach only a few minutes away, brilliant hosts who went out of their way to look after us, telling us all about the sights, booked our trips and made us feel so welcome but weren't intrusive. Breakfast kept us going for the day, so much choice, just great. Thoroughly recommended and will be back. Thanks Chris & Paul for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
514 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
15.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
1.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £67 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing