We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Ranked #7 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Mussel Bed B&B is a purpose built row of units in Chris & Paul's beautiful garden. It was so peaceful and the room was well equipped, comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was chosen the night before from a menu and brought to your room on a large tray when you wanted it. Ours was set out on a table in the garden as it was such a lovely day.
The long sandy beach is not far away and swimming is safe. Great after a long drive.
They have canoes and bikes for you to borrow as well as spades for when you go to Hot Water Bay to make pools where the hot springs come up through the sand! Quite an experience.
Chris was helpful and informative, even booking our table at the restaurants for dinner. Paul obviously loved his garden and gave us a tour of all the plants.

Room Tip: Stay longer than the 2 nights we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at Mussel Bed ifor 2 nights in January this year and felt that we would loved to have stayed longer. The room was beautiful, spacious and most importantly for me, very clean. The breakfast brought to our door was also delicious and well presented, Chris and Paul are lovely thoughtful people who were very helpful and we were touched by the fact thet Chris had booked us a restaurant for the evening when we were late arriving. We were given Paul's mussel fritters which were fabulous! the garden was well kept and we enjoyed being able to use it as we pleased during our short stay. We stayed in 4 different B&B during our time in NZ and this was the most expensive but definately the best and well worth the price! We would stay again given the opportunity, thank you Chris and Paul.

Room Tip: I think any room that any room that you chose would not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Mussel Bed a wonderful B&B. Chris & Paul two super people. Just wonderful having breakfast on the patio, delivered personally by Paul and what a breakfast! Wouldn't hesitate to go back to Mussel Bed if I should be so fortunate as to make another trip to Whitianga and New Zealand. Even have spades if you are lucky enough to be there at the right time to get to Hot Water Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We are from the UK and this is our second stay at Mussel Bed. We discovered it on a previous trip and loved it. So this time we saved it for the last 3 days of our NZ trip as a special treat. Chris and Paul's warm welcome made it feel like coming home. Our room, the Victorian suite, which we requested again, was spacious, comfortable, with lovely fabrics.. We woke to the sound of the birds in the lovely garden right outside the window. Next came the quiet arrival of Paul with the breakfast tray to eat on our own deck or further into the garden. Breakfasts were outstanding with fresh fruit, granola and yoghurt, a hot dish, and home-made breads and pastries. Home-made cake would arrive in the room in the afternoon. The location is ideal for exploring and Chris and Paul are full of suggestions about where to go and places to eat. We cannot fault Mussel Bed in any way. We came before, we came again, and we'll certainly be back one day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a lovely B&B with three nicely designed Mediterranean styled buildings around a central courtyard driveway. The rear gardens are well maintained and lead to the stream that you can borrow kayaks to paddle along down to the beach (sadly the creek is much abused by mankind and doesn't really offer much in the way of natural beauty til you reach the mouth at Cooks Beach). We spent two nights in the cottage, a semi self contained house. The food provided was more than ample and while it was only supposed to cover one breakfast we strung it out for two! Thank you! The upstairs bedroom was huge but it is also your lounge area. Its more than comfortable and the bed is firm yet soft. The kitchenette downstairs is adequate for a little non ambitious cooking but we had to wash almost all of the crockery and pans before use as many were dirty. One of the plates had melted cheese dried on it and the frypan had oil/grease along the sides. I realise this was likely previous guests that did this but surely it could be checked. The bathroom is a disappointment being quite tight with the toilet jammed behind the door but everything was clean and the toiletries very nice. My issues with this stay (which really colour my opinion of it) are that it is five meters from a busy road so that you hear traffic noise constantly (while writing that sentence a loud slow truck blasted by followed by a tractor). Surely with a clean slate to build on you would offset the building further? More disappointing was the upstairs room which has paper thin curtains and a skylight with no blind positioned right in your eye line when in the bed so that you will be woken up in Summer around 6am by blinding sunlight in your eyes. Surely this can be remedied as I would think if you're staying at a B&B you're on vacation and you'd like a sleep in? Here it's not possible unless you bring a sleep mask. Other than that Chris and Paul were very welcoming and there is a lot to do nearby including the lovely stroll through nearby Shakespeare's reserve, but for $285 a night this is overpriced (despite all the right touches and service being in place to make it a great stay) simply due to poor building.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWhitianga, Owner at Mussel Bed Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Thanks Adam & Anthony for your comments. You probably will have realised in booking with us that it is very difficult to find a self-contained cottage like ours for just 2 nights stay during this peak holiday time in Cooks Beach in January so therefore the pricing of our cottage is at its highest for a minimum stay and becomes cheaper for a longer stay. Our road has mainly ferry traffic over this peak holiday period & it is always busy over this busy month - we don't like it much either but it is only for such a short time. Most people are out enjoying the beach and beautiful walks so its not usually a problem for most guests - it goes back to being quiet at night once the ferry makes its last trip for the night. I'm sorry about the plate you found, we will make a more comprehensive check of the cupboards from now on. I hope you still found the time to get outdoors & enjoy the natural beauty of the Coromandel though, even though your time here sounds like it was marred by being here at the busiest month of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We had a lovely stay here and really enjoyed the beautiful garden, we borrowed two kayaks from Chris and paddled down an inlet stream to the sea finding our own little beach to chill a bit on. The next day we had booked to go on the sea leopard motor boat tour of the area, it turned out to be the owners son running the business. Very welcoming and friendly couple and breakfast in the garden.

A good position to explore the area.

Would recommend.


Thanks

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Tarzanhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeymoon trip to NZ. The great thing about B&Bs rather than hotels is the individuality of the place but also the hosts. The setting for this B&B is lovely close to the beach and you can actually borrow the owners sit own kayaks and paddle your way there from the stream in the garden of the property. The rooms are set in the gardens and are private and comfortable. The beds are excellent as is the terrace decking outside. We didn't really like the bathroom layout that made it quite integral to the bedroom but the shower itself was "walk in" and spacious. Chris and Paul are a great couple and get the balance spot on. They were really helpful and made a great breakfast. They lent us a spade to go to the hot water beach, which was fun and quite a sight. I then the next day managed to lose my sunglasses and Chris kindly went into town for me after I left, found my glasses (left in the local cinema) and posted them on for me. That's great service! We ate twice at a slightly bizarre place called eggscentric. . The owners are very laid back and you can take your own wine. The food is actually really good. Excellent seafood and beautifully cooked meat dishes too. All in all a very good location and some fantastic stretches of beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 218alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
15.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
14.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
354 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bayview at 91, Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £68 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mussel Bed Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing